Edwards off to fast 2022 start, wins Oil Capital main at Creek County

Blake Edwards earned his first Oil Capital Racing Series victory Saturday in the IMCA RaceSaver Spring Car headliner at Creek County Speedway.

By John Rittenoure 

KELLYVILLE, Okla. (March 19, 2022) – Blake Edwards came close to winning his first AmeriFlex/Oil Capital Racing Series IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car main event two weeks ago with a second place finish at Red Dirt Raceway.

Saturday at Creek County Speedway, Edwards got the win, taking the lead after a lap 14 restart and pacing the field to the checkers for his first OCRS career victory.  

“We have been fast the first three races, almost won the second night at Meeker and finally won tonight,” said the smiling Edwards.  

Two-time 2021 Creek County OCRS winner Noah Harris jumped into the early lead from the outside front row and was chased by pole sitter Alex Sewell in second and Edwards in third after two lap one restarts. Edwards passed Sewell for second on lap 12. 

On lap 14, the yellow waved for a mishap that saw Edwards and Harris make contact. Harris left the race and Edwards was able to continue and took over the lead. 

“We made a little contact there,” Edwards said of racing with Harris. “We were going for the same place at the same time and met. Unfortunately he got the bad end of it and I didn’t.” 

Sewell remained in second after the restart until Terry Easum took the spot away on lap 18. Sewell faded to fifth on lap 24 as Shebester and Tanner Conn raced into third and fourth, respectively. Casey Wills came from third in the ‘B’ feature to start 17th in the main event, where he gained 11 spots to sixth and earn the D and G Contracting Hard Charger award.

Edwards felt he could not have had a better handling car and could run anywhere on the track.  

“I just got into a rhythm and lapped traffic helped me with some green flag laps,” Edwards said. “My setup was spot on and it was a dream to drive. It was so easy I could put the car anywhere I needed it.” 

Feature results – 1. Blake Edwards; 2. Terry Easum; 3. Steven Shebester; 4. Tanner Conn; 5. Alex Sewell; 6. Casey Wills; 7. Danny Smith; 8. Rees Moran; 9. Cameron Hagin; 10. Joe Bob Lee; 11. Fred Mattox; 12. Elizabeth Phillips; 13. Shawn Wicker; 14. Jimmy Forrester; 15. Greg York; 16. Daniel Shaffer; 17. Noah Harris; 18. Johnny Kent; 19. Corey McGehee; 20. Charlie Crumpton.