Williams dominates United Rebel Sprints at 81 Speedway

Ty Williams topped Saturday’s United Rebel Sprint Series feature at 81 Speedway. (Photo by Darrin McKim)

PARK CITY, Kan. (Sept. 18) – Sixteen cars attended Saturday’s event at 81 Speedway in Park City with the Drive to Zero POWRi United Rebel Sprint Series Presented by Mel Hambelton Ford Racing. The night saw Oklahoma native Ty Williams with a dominating performance over the field from the drop of the green to the checkered. 

Williams also captured the dash win ahead of Jordan Knight, placing them on the front row for the 25-lap IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car feature event. Williams quickly hurried off the race lead ahead of Knight and Luke Cranston. On lap three, Jeff Stasa advanced to fourth ahead of Jeremy Huish and Texas’ Marcus Thomas. Huish and Thomas both reclaimed their position on lap five. 

With 11 laps complete, the second-running Knight slipped back to fourth behind Cranston and Huish.

Just one circuit later, Thomas moved into position ahead Knight to claim fourth. Lap 15 saw Thomas move into third ahead of Huish as Stasa reclaimed fifth. 

The race completed in the same running order, as drivers navigated many different line techniques to attempt to advance. Williams claimed the victory over Cranston and Thomas on the podium. 

Feature results – 1. Ty Williams; 2. Luke Cranston; 3. Marcus Thomas; 4. Jeremy Huish; 5. Jeff Stasa; 6. Zach Blurton; 7. Jordan Knight; 8. Stuart Snyder; 9. Jon Freeman; 10. Mike Kleymann; 11. Alan Cunningham; 12. Cash Beeson; 13. Tyler Knight; 14. Connor Atkinson; 15. Eric Matthews; 16. J.D. Johnson.