Abelson answers challenge with IMCA Speedweek victory at BVR

Chris Abelson answered the challenge in scoring the $1,000 IMCA Modified feature win during the Wednesday Speedweek show at Buena Vista Raceway. (Photo by Jim Steffens)

ALTA, Iowa (Aug. 4) – Round three took IMCA Speedweek to Buena Vista Raceway, where Chris Abelson, Devin Smith, Brandon Nielsen and Rusty Montagne all raced to $1,000 Lynn DeWall Memorial feature wins. 

While Abelson was scored first every time around the track in Wednesday’s IMCA Modified main event, upstart Kollin Hibdon nearly stole the lead away with a late slide job. 

Despite fuel pressure issues, Abelson answered that challenge and pulled back ahead, then eased away from his young challenger. 

Hibdon had made his way from eighth starting to second just seven circuits into the 20-lapper. Abelson, already eligible to qualify for the upcoming Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational was running with the back of the field when the only caution of the race came out on lap 12.

Tripp Gaylord, Lucas Lamberies and Jesse Rogotztke were next across the stripe. 

Smith chased and finally caught brother and race-long leader David on the 17th of 20 IMCA Sunoco Stock Car laps.

Devin Smith is already B & B Chassis All-Star qualifying eligible. David Smith ended in second and Brian Blessington, who’d challenged for the lead on the inside line just after midway, took third. Fourth went to Bruce Bonnesen, fifth to Cody Nielsen.

Brandon Nielsen got the lead back following a restart four laps into the Hobby Stock feature and outran Dillon Magnussen the last half of the race. 

Tenth starting Mike Smith, 12th starting James Johnson and Craig Brotherton finished 3-4-5.

Montagne inherited the front spot when leader Tim Rupp exited during a late caution in the Northern SportMod feature, then bested Jake Sachau and Christian Sylvester in a four-lap shootout.

Sachau started ninth and rallied after getting sideways running second before midway; Sylvester started 11th while Zech Norgaard raced from 16th starting to fourth. 

Cameron Vande Weerd was fifth. 

Winner of the Mach-1 Sport Compact feature was Corey Namanny. Caine Mahlberg started ninth and finished second; Lady Eagle points leader Kaytee DeVries was third. 

Round four of IMCA Speedweek is Thursday at Kossuth County Speedway in Algona, where Modifieds race for $2,000 to win, Northern SportMods for $1,250 to win, Stock Cars and Hobby Stocks both for $1,000 to win and Sport Compacts for $200 to win during the Hovinga/Harken Memorial Fair show.

Hot laps are at 7 p.m. with racing to follow.