Snyder claims URSS victory at US 36

A last-lap pass netted Stuart Snyder the win and $1,000 when the United Rebel Sprint Series returned to US 36 Raceway.

OSBORN, Mo. (July 23) – The sizzling summer heat was in full force on Friday at US 36 Raceway for the Drive to Zero United Rebel Sprint Series Presented by Mel Hambelton Ford Racing. Thirteen cars were in attendance for the second-ever United Rebel Sprint Series appearance at the 3/8-mile and it was Nebraska’s Stuart Snyder taking the top prize with a last-lap pass. 

The 20-lap IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car feature event saw Jay Russell and Snyder with front row starting positions. Russell took off with the early lead out of turns one and two, but Snyder challenged back by diamonding the apex in three and four. The red would fly over the field for Kevin Dye flipping in turn three over the cushion. 

A complete restart again had Russell prevailing with the race lead, while Snyder bounced violently through turn one. Snyder was able to gather control of the car and started to reel back in on Russell for the lead. 

Mike Houseman Jr. sat in third while Zach Blurton and J.R. Topper dueled for fourth place. Snyder closed in on the race lead but was unable to make a move. Blurton claimed fourth and began to challenge Houseman for third. 

With six laps in the books, Ty Williams moved into fifth. Lapped traffic became a factor for the top runners, allowing Blurton to claim the third position and later Williams moving into fourth over Houseman.

Snyder continued to pressure a smoking Russell for the race lead. With one lap remaining, Snyder gave a last-ditch effort at a slide job going into turn one. The slide job stuck, giving Snyder the race lead over Russell. 

Snyder took home the $1,000 top prize, Jay Russell and Blurton completing the podium finishers. Williams and Jeremy Huish rounded out the top five.  

Feature results – 1. Stuart Snyder; 2. Jay Russell; 3. Zach Blurton; 4. Ty Williams; 5. Jeremy Huish; 6. Mike Houseman Jr.; 7. J.R. Topper; 8. Jacob Dye; 9. Chris Couch; 10. Lindrick Willis; 11. Dakota Osborn; 12. Kevin Dye; 13. Camdin Couch.