Qualifying starts for Stuart’s Dirt Duel

By Josh Reynolds

STUART, Iowa (June 15) – Tuesday night saw 108 race cars and drivers at Stuart Speedway for opening night of the Dynamic Drivelines Dirt Duel. 

Qualifying feature winners for the night were Dylan VanWyk and Brayton Carter in the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMods, Dallon Murty and Chanse Hollatz in the IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, and Jeremy Purdy and Braden Richards in the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks. 

In the feature for Mach-1 Sport Compacts, Braxton Wallace and Dusty Champlin were on the front row. Wallace rocketed into the lead and it was all over from there as the T13 drove off to the win. Mark Smith finished second with Andrew Mills third, Harold Robb fourth and Curtis Masterson fifth.

Cory Sonner and Kaden Cochrun led the IMCA STARS Mod Lites to the green flag and it was all Cochrun as he cruised to the win. Dillon Raffurty finished in second with Michael Raffurty third, Josh May fourth and Nathan Wolfe fifth. 

Manufacturers’ races were the last two races on the track with the Northern SportMods being the first ones to go. Jimmy Davy and Tim Eaton started from the front row but it was Izac Mallicoat leading early with Carter close behind. Carter made his move on lap four and it was all over as he sped off to the win. Mallicoat finished second with VanWyk third, Cory Pestotnik fourth and Jake Sachau fifth. 

Stock Cars were the last one on the track for their manufacturers race with Bob Daniels and Nick Roberts out front. Damon Murty flew to the lead early and led to the end to take the win. Dallon Murty finished second with Michael Jeannette third, Bob Daniels fourth and Derek Green fifth. 

Wednesday will see day two of the Dynamic Drivelines Dirt Duel with the IMCA Modifieds joining the race program.