Wilson wheels to victory lane in IMCA STARS Mod Lite Challenge Series

Blake Wilson raced from 10th starting to win Saturday’s Challenge Series main event for IMCA STARS Mod Lites at Diamond Park Speedway. (Courtesy Photo)

MURFREESBORO, Ark. (May 29) – Blake Wilson took his IMCA STARS Mod Lite to the winner’s circle from mid-pack on Saturday night at the Diamond Park Speedway’s second of five schedule Challenge Series races. 

Early on, it was pole sitter Jace Reid who set the pace. Not to be out done, James Rollins and Jimmy Brown both battled for and at one point held the race lead. 

Methodically, the 10th starting Wilson stalked the field and worked his way through traffic. Chance Hull followed Wilson, his starting row neighbor, toward the front and put himself in the mix for the lead at about mid-way until a caution came out for an airborne Charles Armstrong II on the front stretch.  

By this point, Wilson had gotten to third with Hull in tow. On the restart, Wilson edged Rollins and set sail, never to be challenged again until a late-race caution but only for about half a lap. 

The race was on for second  and ninth starting Chris Tucker blasted into the fray and challenged Rollins for second the final laps, barely getting edged out at the line.

Wilson went on to win with Rollins, Tucker, Hull and Reid rounding out the top five. 

Collecting $1,000, Wilson was all smiles after the race. The trophy, just shy of six feet tall, is just about the winner’s height. 

“This is a big deal. We finally got the monkey off our back and have hit stride with some wins,” said Wilson.   

Twenty-eight cars checked in for heat races.

Next up for the SuperClean-sponsored IMCA STARS Mod Lites at Diamond Park will be the July 3 $888 to win, $88 to start first annual Tex Myers 8Ball Classic sponsored by Myers Supply.  This memorial race is set to honor the late Tex Myers who was a pioneer in the Arkansas dwarf/mod lite scene and who recently passed from Covid 19 complications.  His wife Judy and sons will be on hand to present the winner’s check and trophy to the inaugural winner.