178 cars for night one at Outagamie Speedway

By Edward Anschutz

SEYMOUR, Wis. (May 7) – One hundred and seventy-eight racers checked in to do battle at Outagamie Speedway Friday night, among them 38 IMCA Modifieds, 39 IMCA Stock Cars, 39 IMCA Sport Mods, 33 IMCA Sport Compacts and 29 Unified Street Stocks.

Defending IMCA Sunoco Stock Car champion Eric Arneson paced the opening lap until former national champion Travis Van Straten took the top spot. Tim Warner cleared the Arneson machine for the runner-up position and set his sights on Van Straten.

Warner went to work on the outside groove, pulling past Van Straten and to the lead. Van Straten came roaring back as the duo traded the lead over the next several laps. With two laps remaining, Warner gained the edge he needed to score his first-ever IMCA Stock Car feature win. Van Straten had to settle for second, Brandon Czarapata was third, Arneson took fourth and Aaron Stolp completed the top five.

Defending IMCA Modified track champion Johnny “The Hitman” Whitman drew the number pill for the fea­ture and used that to his advantage in a caution-slowed feature. Whitman went unchallenged leading all 20 laps for his first victory of the season. Konnor Wilinski had a solid second and was followed to the checkers by Jason Ebert, Justin Ritchie and Josh Lambert.

Robert Wittkopf passed Jeff Schmuhl for the lead on lap nine of the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod feature. Wittkopf never looked back, cruising to his first career feature win at the speedway. Schmuhl was second, Jayden Schmidt made a late-race charge to place third, Elijah Koenig was fourth and Matt Radtke rounded out the top five.

Matt Brehmer outdueled Trevor Vandehei to score the win in the Mach-1 Sport Compacts.