Woodworth scores opener at Lee County Speedway

By Brian Neal 

DONNELLSON, Iowa (April 23) – Dennis Woodworth picked up the IMCA Sunoco Late Model feature win Friday, in a fast-paced and caution-free contest on opening night at Lee County Speedway.

Woodworth and Tommy Elston led the field to green. Woodworth used his front row draw to his advantage by grabbing the lead on lap one over Elston and Dustin Griffin. While Woodworth set a torrid pace out front, Elston, Griffin, Mark Burgtorf and Nick Marolf waged a great battle for the runner-up spot. 

Without a caution to bunch the field up, Woodworth cruised to an easy win. Griffin won the battle for second, Burgtorf was third, Marolf fourth and Elston came home in fifth.

The 18-lap IMCA Modified feature saw Levi Smith and Chad Giberson draw the front row. Giberson took advantage of his draw to lead lap one over Michael Long, and Smith. The yellow waved just after the first lap was scored complete and on the restart, Long shot past Giberson to take over the top spot.

The fast pace Long set allowed him to build up a full straight-away lead over the rest of the field by the halfway point. A caution on lap 10 finally brought the field to Long’s back bumper. Mark Burgtorf, who started seventh, overtook Kory Meyer for the runner-up spot on the restart. 

Burgtorf tried to keep pace but Long was too tough on this night as he pulled away to win. Meyer was third, Bill Roberts Jr. came from ninth to finish fourth with rookie Brandon Dale fifth.

Jason Cook took the lead on lap three and held off John Oliver Jr. in winning the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car main. Chris Wibbell edged out Chad Krogmeier for third, with Jeremy Pundt finishing fifth.

Also the leader from lap three to the checkers, Austen Becerra denied Jim Gillenwater’s challenge in top­ping the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod main. Logan Cumby recovered from his lap one spin to come back up to fourth with AJ Tournear coming from fifth.

Despite 12th starting Chance Bailey cutting Brandon Reu’s lead down to two car lengths coming to the white flag, Reu was able to hold on in a caution-free race to claim the Mach-1 Sport Compact win. Bailey settled for second and claimed the SDB Farms-Scott and Dana Boles $50 hard charger award. Kimberly Abbott was third, Jared Heule was fourth with Luke Fraise rounding out the top five.