Season champions crowned at Kossuth County

By Greg Grabianowski

ALGONA, Iowa (Aug. 20) – In the final evening of dirt track racing of the summer Thursday at Kossuth County Speedway, unofficial season champions were crowned in each of the divisions.

Kaytee DeVries overcame a three-point deficit by earning her fourth feature win of the season to edge Lucas Parsons by one point for the Mach-1 Sport Compact championship. 

The early leader in the 12-car feature was A.J. Myott as the caution came out on lap five with Myott still in the lead. Off the restart, DeVries grabbed the lead and went onto the victory. 

Myott held on for a runner-up finish as Jade Lange was third. 

The closest feature of the evening was in the IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars. Jake Masters kept the heat on Kelly Shryock for the final two laps but the Fertile driver wrapped up the season championship in the class with his fifth feature win. 

Alec Fett used the high side of the track to grab the lead in the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod main. Fett went from 11th to first as the hard charger and Matt Looft ended as champion.

Josh Sidles’ first trip to victory lane this summer was delayed only by a yellow flag on the ninth lap as he cruised to the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock win. Cody Nielsen was the hard charger as he went from 11th to third and was also point champion for the class.

Jeremy Mills was lurking behind Nick Meyer for the final 11 laps but could not get past as he earned his third IMCA Modified win of the season. Despite not winning a feature all year long at the track, runner-up Mills’ consistency throughout the year earned him the modified point title. 

All 2020 IMCA point standings become official on Oct. 26.