Gustin capitalizes on late-race opportunity for Dirt Knights Tour triumph at Kossuth County

Richie Gustin won Thursday’s Arnold Motor Supply Dirt Knights Tour main event, during the Kossuth County Fair. The $1,500 IMCA Modified tour victory was his fourth this season. (Photo by Chad Meyer)

ALGONA, Iowa (Aug. 1) – In the right place at the right time, Richie Gustin won Thursday’s Arnold Motor Supply Dirt Knights Tour main event at Kossuth County Speedway. 

A bobble with three laps left by Jeremy Mills opened the door for Gustin, who zoomed by to take the $1,500 checkers and his fourth win of the 2019 IMCA Modified tour.

Mills ended second in the caution-free contest. Austin Wolf, Ryan Ruter and Corey Dripps completed the top five in the county fair show. Hard charger Cody Laney advanced 10 positions.

Already on the 2020 Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot, Gustin now has a tour career best 12 feature wins. The Kossuth County show had been postponed a week because of inclement weather. 

One thousand dollar feature winners at Algona were Devin Smith in the IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, Cody Nielsen in the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks and Jared Boumeester in the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMods. 

Next up on the Dirt Knights schedule are $1,500 to win events Monday, Aug. 5 at Clay County Fair Speedway in Spencer and Wednesday, Aug. 7 at Fairmont Raceway.

The Fairmont race will be the first in tour history held in Minnesota. Both events will be broadcast by IMCA.TV.

Feature results – 1. Richie Gustin, Gilman; 2. Jeremy Mills, Britt; 3. Austin Wolf, Algona; 4. Ryan Ruter, Kanawha; 5. Corey Dripps, Reinbeck; 6. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls; 7. Kelly Shryock, Fertile; 8. Ricky Thornton Jr., Adel; 9. Todd Shute, Norwalk; 10. Cody Laney, Torrance, Calif.; 11. Joel Rust, Grundy Center; 12. Ethan Dotson, Bakersfield, Calif.; 13. Cody Bauman, Eureka, Ill.; 14. Kyle Brown, Madrid; 15. Mat Hollerich, Good Thunder, Minn.; 16. Kollin Hibdon, Pahrump, Nev.; 17. Ben Schultze, Algona; 18. Cody Knecht, Whittemore; 19. Jeff Feaster, Humboldt; 20. David Brown, Kellogg; 21. Al Hejna, Clear Lake; 22. Brock Bauman, Eureka, Ill.; 23. Rob Hughes, Humboldt; 24. D.J. Shannon, Merced, Calif.