Hancock County Speedway hosts IMCA Speed Shift TV Dirt Knights Tour

BRITT, Iowa – One streak is guaranteed to continue when the Speed Shift TV Dirt Knights Tour for IMCA Modifieds travels to Hancock County Speedway on July 28.

Ethan Braaksma hopes to continue a streak of his own next Tuesday at Britt as well.

Hancock County Speedway is the only track to have hosted a Dirt Knights event every year since the tour started in 2010, with eight different drivers winning features over the course of the first 10 visits.

Braaksma, from Newton, won the first two Dirt Knights features of the season July 20 at South Dakota’s Park Jefferson Speedway and July 22 at Buena Vista Raceway. Should he take the upcoming checkers and top check of $1,000, he’d match the tour consecutive wins record of three in a row established by Ricky Thornton Jr. of Adel in 2018 and equaled by Richie Gustin of Gilman last year.

Also on the Tuesday card are IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks running for $1,000 to win their Joel Showalter Memorial, plus IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, Karl Kustoms Northern SportMods and Mach-1 Sport Compacts.

Pit gates open at 5 p.m. and the grandstand opens at 6 p.m. Hot laps are at 7 p.m. with racing to follow.

Grandstand admission is $15 for adults, $10 for seniors and students, and free for kids ages 12 and under. Pit passes are $30. 

More information is available on Facebook. All tour events are broadcast by Speed Shift TV.

Speed Shift TV Dirt Knights Tour top 10 point standings – 1. Ethan Braaksma, Newton, 80; 2. Chris Abelson, Sioux City, 76; 3. Ricky Stephan, Sioux City, 72; 4. Bob Moore, Sioux City, 67; 5. Corey Dripps, Reinbeck, and Troy Cordes, Dunkerton, both 66; 7. Kyle Brown, Madrid, 64; 8. Al Hejna, Clear Lake, 63; 9. Jason Brees, Meriden, 60; 10. Chad Ten Napel, Sioux City, 55.