Hutchinson Nationals URSS checkers fly for Velasquez

HUTCHINSON, Kan. (July 17) – For the first time in history, the Mel Hambelton Ford Racing POWRi United Rebel Sprint Series competed at the Hutchinson Nationals.

Taylor Velasquez of Liberal, Kansas captured his first win of the year with the series at the 64th event Friday at the Kansas State Fairgrounds, becoming the ninth different winner in eleven races. 

Jordan Knight and J.D. Johnson set the pace for the 20-lap feature. Knight took off with the early lead while Williams worked his way from fifth starting to second by lap 11.

Knight and Velasquez battled hard and made contact with a few laps remaining. Velasquez got past Knight for the lead on lap 19. He went on to capture the feature win by less than four-tenth’s of a second. 

Feature results – 1. Taylor Velasquez; 2. Jordan Knight; 3. Ty Williams; 4. J.D. Johnson; 5. Kyler Johnson; 6. Zach Blurton; 7. Eric Matthews; 8. Koby Walters; 9. Cody Lampe; 10. Jody Reeves; 11. Dylan Postier; 12. Zachery Patterson.