Bubak sprints to first at Fairbury’s Firecracker Nationals

FAIRBURY, Neb. (July 4) – Independence Day led the Mel Hambelton Ford Racing POWRi United Rebel Sprint Series to the 1/5-mile bullring of Jefferson County Speedway in Fairbury. A stacked field was on hand for the historic marking, the first time Sprint Cars took to the semi-banked dirt track and three-time series champion Jake Bubak was the victor.

Kyler Johnson took off with the early lead with a heated battle for second behind him. Stuart Snyder rocketed ahead into turn three to take the lead on the fifth lap with J.D. Johnson following. 

Leaders caught the end of the field before a lap 10 caution. Snyder took off with the lead on the restart, with Bubak, Zach Blurton and J.D. Johnson in the hunt for the lead. 

Snyder and Bubak traded slide-job for slide-job for three laps until Bubak claimed the top spot, and he never looked back to grab the IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car win ahead of Snyder and Blurton. 

Feature results – 1. Jake Bubak; 2. Stuart Snyder; 3. Zach Blurton; 4. J.D. Johnson; 5. Monty Ferriera; 6. Jeremy Huish; 7. Taylor Velasquez; 8. Chad Salem; 9. Jody Reeves; 10. Howard Van Dyke; 11. Kyler Johnson; 12. Boyd Peterson; 13. Shon Pointer.