Werner, Walters are URSS winners at RPM

Jed Werner took charge with three laps to go in winning the Saturday United Rebel Sprint Series feature at RPM Speedway. (Photo by Carl Larson)

HAYS, Kan. (June 13-14) – Jed Werner and Koby Walters ran the string of Mel Hambelton Ford Racing POWERi United Rebel Sprint Series winners to four in as many events, when the IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car series joined the Mike Hughes Memorial Sunflower Classic slate at RPM Speedway.

Werner got a run on race-long leader Shane Sundquist down the backstretch with just three laps to go to claim the opening night event on Saturday. Walters took the lead just before midway and never looked back to claim Sunday honors.

Only two car lengths separated the front pair with five laps to go on Saturday. Lap 23 saw Werner get a run on the top side coming out of turn two and storm past Sundquist down the back stretch to take the lead.

He would go untouched the rest of the way to claim his first series victory since June 12 of 2016. Jeremy Huish got past Sundquist on the last lap for second.

On Sunday, Walters made his move for the lead on lap 11 when he drove low entering turns one and two and drove underneath the top-running Kyler Johnson.

Lapped traffic didn’t deter Walters from picking up his first URSS feature win of the season. John­son settled for second while Ray Seeman was third.

Once in front, there was no catching Koby Walters in the Sunday Mike Hughes Sunflower Classic United Rebel Sprint Series show. (Photo by Carl Larson)

Next up for the Rebels will be a two-night show at two different tracks. It all kicks off on Saturday night, June 27, at Thomas County Speedway in Colby, before a special Sunday night edition of IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car action at WaKeeney Speedway.

June 13 feature results – 1. Jed Werner; 2. Jeremy Huish; 3. Shane Sundquist; 4. J.D. Johnson; 5. Ty Williams; 6. Taylor Velasquez; 7. Zach Blurton; 8. Steven Richardson; 9. Jordan Knight; 10. Cale Cozad; 11. Mike Woodruff; 12. Kyler Johnson; 13. Keith Rauch; 14. Ray Seeman; 15. Tyler Knight; 16. Ross Essenburg; 17. Howard Van Dyke; 18. Brady Skrdlant; 19. Fred Holz; 20. Zach Middleton; 21. Tom Belsky.

June 14 feature results – 1. Koby Walters; 2. Kyler Johnson; 3. Seeman; 4. Woodruff; 5. Blurton; 6. Rauch; 7. J.D. Johnson; 8. Cozad; 9. Richardson; 10. Sundquist; 11. Werner; 12. Nate Berry; 13. Holz; 14. Velasquez; 15. Chad Salem, 16. Van Dyke; 17. Skrdlant; 18. Belsky; 19. Jor­dan Knight; 20. Huish.