Czarapatas collect trophies at Outagamie

By Edward Anschutz 

SEYMOUR, Wis. (July 3) – Team Czarapata took two IMCA feature wins Friday at Outagamie Speed­way.

Mike Mullen raced to the lead on the second lap of the IMCA Modified feature and quickly pulled away from the field. Several cautions slowed his charge as Jason Czarapata and Brian Mullen gave chase.

Cautions kept the pace slowed with the time limit ticking away. Mike Mullen once again pulled away on the restart but mechanical gremlins got the best of the no. 99 machine as his car came to a halt in turn two. Czarapata inherited the lead as the time limit expired on the race, handing him the win. Brian Mullen was second and Benji LaCrosse raced from row eight to place third.

Rod Snellenberger took the lead on the seventh lap of the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature only to have it swiped away a lap later by Brandon Czarapata. Czarapata was able to hold off a hard charging Jeremy Christians to score his first win of the season.

Christians had to the settle for second at the pay window while point leader Eric Arneson came through a last chance qualifier to place third.

In Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod action it was Jayden Schmidt passing Derek Fehling with three laps remaining to score his first win of the season. Fehling was second and was trailed at the line by Jeff Schmuhl.

Matt Brehmer was victorious in the Mach-1 Sport Compacts.

Division counts were 37 Modifieds, 36 SportMods, 26 Stock Cars and 25 Sport Compacts.