Return to Hancock County, Hobo 100 win result in career-best payday for Cornelius

Dean Cornelius banked a career-best $4,300 payday by winning Hancock County Speedway’s Hobo 100 main event for IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars. (Photo by Chad Meyer)

BRITT, Iowa (July 26) – Dean Cornelius came to Britt Friday night with the same setup that had put him in Hancock County Speedway’s victory lane in May.

He left town with the Hobo 100 IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature win and a career-best payday of $4,300.

Curt Lund made it a back-and-forth battle before Cornelius regained the upper hand. Jake Mas­ters challenged late but couldn’t catch the leader before the checkers flew at the end of the cau­tion-free 25-lapper.

“I was faster off turn four,” Cornelius said of the duel with Masters. “I knew I’d be all right if I didn’t make a mistake and just kept doing what I was doing.”

Cornelius had started fourth and passed Ned Kalis and then Lund for the lead. Thirteenth starting Matt Speckman, Lund and 14th starting Derek Green completed the top five. Cayden Carter ad­vanced 10 positions to sixth. 

A first-time Hobo 100 entrant, Cornelius ran second after starting dead last in his heat race.

“We won there in May and came back with the same setup. We didn’t make any (setup) changes for the feature,” he said. “All we did was put on some not as used tires.” 

Forty-eight Stock Cars were entered Friday, from four states.

Jordan Grabouski topped the $1,000 to win IMCA Modified feature, a 2020 Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot qualifier.

Other winners were Bryce Sommerfeld in the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks, Jim Chisholm in the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMods and Oliver Monson in the Mach-1 Sport Compact feature.

Feature results – 1. Dean Cornelius; 2. Jake Masters; 3. Matt Speckman; 4. Curt Lund; 5. Derek Green; 6. Cayden Carter; 7. Kelly Shryock; 8. Ned Kalis; 9. Kyle Brown; 10. Gary Pesicka; 11. Chad Palmer; 12. Brian Blessington; 13. Dan Mackenthun; 14. Dusty Van Horn; 15. David Wick­man; 16. Elijah Zevenbergen; 17. Kevin Opheim; 18. Matt Schauer; 19. Jordan Grabouski; 20. Jeff Larson; 21. Calvin Lange; 22. Jeff Mueller; 23. Randy Brands; 24. Heath Tulp; 25. Devin Smith.