Deery Series has new point leader for Friday show at Lee County

DONNELLSON, Iowa – There’s a new point leader when the Deery Brothers Summer Series makes its much anticipated return to Lee County Speedway this Friday.

The Aug. 2 event at Donnellson is the fifth installment of the 2019 IMCA Late Model tour. Joel Callahan of Dubuque is one of the four different drivers with series wins thus far and put his name at the top of the point standings with a fifth place finish last Wednesday at West Union.

Friday’s main event, the 495th in series history, pays $2,000 to win and a minimum of $300 to start. 

Pit gates are open all day. The grandstand opens at 5:30 p.m., hot laps are at 7 p.m. with racing to follow. Spectator admission is $15 for adults, $13 for seniors, $5 off for veterans, $8 for stu­dents ages 11-17 and free for ages 10 and under. Pit passes are $30 for adults, $20 for kids ages 7 to 13, $15 for ages 4-6 and $5 for three and under.

Also running are IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, Karl Kustoms Northern SportMods and Mach-1 Sport Compacts for national, regional, state and track points. The track website is

Friday marks the 26th visit by the series to Lee County, and the first since September of 2010. 

Thirteen different drivers have won Deery events at Donnellson. Mark Burgtorf of Quincy, Ill., owns six career wins there while Gary Webb of Blue Grass has raced his way to victory lane on four occasions and Curt Martin of Independence is a three-time winner there. 

IMCA.TV will broadcast the Friday race program. 

Following the Lee County date are $2,000 to win Deery shows at Quad City Speedway on Aug. 11, at Quincy Raceway on Aug. 18 and at West Liberty Raceway on Aug. 24. 

The IMCA Late Model tour travels to Boone Speedway for opening night of the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s on Sept. 2.

Deery Brothers Summer Series top 20 point standings – 1. Joel Callahan, Dubuque, 182; 2. Andy Eckrich, Oxford, 181; 3. Jeremiah Hurst, Dubuque, and Matt Ryan, Davenport, both 176; 5. Curt Martin, Independ­ence, 168; 6. Andy Nezworski, Buffalo, 156; 7. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown, 155; 8. Joe Zrostlik, Long Grove, 144; 9. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls, 141; 10. Tyler Bruening, Decorah, 139; 11. Justin Kay, Wheat­land, 138; 12. Todd Malmstrom, Hampton, Ill., and John Emerson, Waterloo, both 137; 14. Dalton Simonsen, Fair­fax, 133; 15. Eric Pollard, Peosta, 132; 16. Gary Webb, Blue Grass, 126; 17. Brian Harris, Davenport, 118; 18. Chad Holladay, Muscatine, 117; 19. Paul Nagle, Nevada, 99; 20. Stacy Griffis, Solon, and Terry Neal, Ely, both 85.