Miles finds fast line at Maquoketa

By Rob Hinckley 

MAQUOKETA, Iowa (June 22) – Jerry Miles bided his time, worked the high groove and sped by Logan Veloz with six laps left to win the 15-lap B&D Pit Stop IMCA Northern SportMod finale on Hall of Fame Night at Maquoketa Speedway. 

Veloz, Rusty Deshaw, Tyler Soppe and Wes Digman came next.

Point leader Soppe suffered a mechanical issue in his own no. 3T ride during his heat. He hopped into Scott Williams’ no. 9 and raced from the tail to that finish, his first outside the top two all season at Maquoketa. 

Other feature winners were Ray Cox Jr. in the IMCA Modifieds, David Brandies in  the 15-lap GRE/REV Chassis IMCA Stock Cars and Randy Lamar in the Shawn’s Auto Service IMCA Hobby Stocks.

The wins came after the inaugural class of the Maquoketa Speedway Hall of Fame was inducted. Ernie Cook, Bob Current, Pickle Edwards, Tom Feller, Lloyd Nabb and Karl Vohringer were honored during intermission.