Current, Roth among winners at Maquoketa Speedway

MAQUOKETA, Iowa (June 18, 2022) – Saturday, June 18th provided perfect weather for the racing action at Maquoketa Speedway.

The Friesen Performance IMCA Modifieds 20-lap feature win went to fourth row outside starter Tim Current. Current wheeled his #12T to the front quickly taking the lead from Steve Johnson on lap number four. Current’s teammate Ryan Duhme ran second on Saturday night ahead of Travis Denning. 

A strong field of Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMods ran a caution-free 15 lap main event on Saturday night. Jason Roth took first place honors by racing to the win ahead of Matt Mayo from Bakersfield, California. Front row starter Dakota Cole crossed under the checkers in third. 

The IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars provided a very entertaining feature. Joe Zrostlik led the feature until a late race caution set up a two lap dash to the finish. Jacob Ellithorpe took advantage of the restart and passed Zrostlik to score his fourth win of the season at Maquoketa. Zrostlik ran second ahead of Jerry Miles. 

In the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks it was the “Buffalo Bandit” Randy LaMar adding another Maquoketa Speedway win to his resume. LaMar drove his #4R to the win ahead of Lukas Short and Jordan Milles. 

Cyle Hawkins also joined the repeat winners list as he scored the win in the Mach-1 IMCA Sport Compact class. Hawkins fought off the constant challenges of Nick Proehl in taking the win.