Yarie, Arneson cash in at Outagamie Speedway

By Edward Anschutz 

SEYMOUR, Wis. (June 21) – Mark Schuenemann paced the opening laps of the $1,000 to win IMCA Modified feature Friday at Outagamie Speedway before defending track champion Mar­cus Yarie came to call. 

Yarie took the lead from Schuenemann and set sail, going unchallenged for his first local feature win of the season and pocketing the $1,000 payday. 

Already on the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot, Yarie won the green to checkered contest ahead of Schuenemann, Mike Mullen, Brian Mullen and Jerry Wilinski.  

Former national champion Travis Van Straten raced to the lead on lap one of the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car headliner. After starting in row five, Eric Arneson worked to the runner-up position by lap five using the top groove. 

Arneson set his sights on Van Straten, pulling even with him on lap eight. A lap later, Arneson took the lead and never looked back, earning his first feature win of the season. 

Van Straten stayed close but had to settle for second, Chas Van Ooyen was third, Jeremy Chris­tians took fourth and point leader Josh Mroczkoski rounded out the top five. The contest ran cau­tion-free.   

Jayden Schmidt took the lead from John Rothmund on lap eight of the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod feature and never looked back, scoring a clean sweep on the night with his first feature win of the season. Rothmund had to settle for second, point leader Cody Schroeder was third, Cole Magnin was fourth and Ryan Schmidt had his best run of the season to place fifth.   

Jake Peters made a last-lap pass on Brian Johnson to score his first-ever mach-1 Sport Compact fea­ture victory.