Outagamie openers go to Whitman, Richards, Engebregtsen, Schulte

By Edward Anschutz 

SEYMOUR, Wis. (June 12) – One hundred and fifty-two cars packed the pit area for the first night of the 2020 racing season Friday at Outagamie Speedway powered by EWSC.

Defending IMCA Modified track champion Johnny Whitman drew the pole for the night’s main event and looked strong early on as Benji LaCrosse gave chase. LaCrosse closed in several times but was never able to mount a serious challenge for the lead.

Whitman led flag to flag earning the victory over LaCrosse. Lucas Lamberies was third, Jason Ebert took fourth and Andy Kleczka completed the top five.

Kenny Richards jumped from the pole position to the lead in the opening lap of the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature as Jeremy Christians, Luke Lemmens and Eric Mahlik battled for second. Mahlik broke free of that battle midway through the contest but couldn’t find the grip to catch Richards.

Christians had his race and car go up in a ball flames as the leaders took the white flag. Richards collected the win, the first for him in the division. Mahlik was second, Lemmens placed third, Benji LaCrosse was fourth and Eric Arneson rounded out the top five.

Vince Engebregtsen was dominant in his Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod, leading every lap on his way to a clean sweep in the division.

Tyler Sobiesczyk placed a strong second, Chris Budzban was third, Cory Kemkes took fourth and Goeff Jeche brought home fifth.

In Mach-1 Sport Sport Compact action, Ben Schulte began his title defense with a feature win after surviving a late race restart.