Franzen beats Schrader, rest of Modifieds at Maquoketa

By Rob Hinckley 

MAQUOKETA, Iowa (June 1) – He watched the monkey jump off his back.

Jarrett Franzen actually pushed that chimp in dominating form, leading all 20 laps of the IMCA Modified feature Saturday evening at Maquoketa Speedway. 

“I got lucky on the start,” Franzen said. “(Polesitter) Tyler Madigan pushed on the start and I started second row inside and it was pretty much a bottom race track.”

The win ended a string of “almosts” in the Fryer Motorsports No. 60F. 

“Seems like we’ve led until lap 16 and the car burns off,” he said. “

We’ve finally been changing some stuff, dropping some bars we usually don’t do and it ended up working.”

Franzen and team celebrated on Stead Family Children’s Hospital Night and beat all the stars, including Ken Schrader, who wound up fifth.

Timmy Current started 11th and picked his way to the runner up spot, followed by Bryce Garnhart and Tyler Madigan. 

Schrader was complimentary of his first visit to Maquoketa. 

“Nice and smooth, nice little track. I really enjoyed it.,” said Schrader, who started 14th after winning a ‘B’ main and moved up nine slots by the end. 

Andy Nezworski started sixth but only took seven laps to move by Matt Ryan for the lead and cruised to his second straight Andover Meat IMCA Late Model win. 

Tyler Soppe won for the fourth straight time in the B&D Pit Stop IMCA Northern SportMods, but this time in a little more dramatic fashion. 

Soppe was involved in an opening lap crash, restarted on the tail and worked his way back to the point by lap 12 of the 15-lap finale.

David Brandies moved by Jimmy Comins about halfway through the Gade Race Engines / REV Chassis IMCA Stock Car 15-lap feature and went on to win.

Kile Vohringer continued his hot start to 2019 with another Shawn’s Auto Service IMCA Hobby Stock 12-lap victory.

Action continues on the 3/8-mile dirt oval this Saturday June 8 highlighted by Night and the IMCA Modifieds racing for $1,000 to win a Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot qualifying event.