Pfeifer prevails at Dodge City Stock Car Shootout

Kyle Pfeifer was the $1,000 winner of Dodge City Raceway Park’s aptly titled IMCA Sunoco Stock Car Shootout on Saturday night. (Photo by Lonnie Wheatley)

By Lonnie Wheatley

DODGE CITY, Kan. (May 4) – Saturday night’s Stock Car Shootout presented by Winner’s Circle Feedyards and Factory Direct Fireworks atop the 3/8-mile Dodge City Raceway Park clay oval lived up to its moniker with Kyle Pfeifer battling past Jason Rogers in the closing rounds of the 25-lapper to pocket the $1,000 winner’s share for IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars.

Pfeifer had his work cut out for him the in the 25-lap Shootout, gridding the feature field 12th as Tyler Walker and Mark Zorn led the way to the green flag.

Walker gunned into the early lead and paced the initial eight circuits before surrendering the point to eighth-starter Rogers.

Rogers was busy fending off Angel Munoz over the ensuing circuits while Pfeifer made his into the top five by the midway point.

Working the top side of the track, Pfeifer made his way to second by the 17th round and then began pressuring Rogers for the lead.  After battling side-by-side for several circuits, Pfeifer surged ahead on the 23rd lap and paced the final three circuits to secure the win. 

After leading more than half the race, Rogers settled for second with Munoz filling out the podium in third.  Mike Petersilie crossed the stripe fourth after starting 10th with Will Bauer rounding out the top five. 

Other Saturday night winners included Clay Money in the IMCA Modifieds, Travis Burger in the IMCA SportMods and Tathan Burkhart in the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks. 

Feature results – 1. Kyle Pfeifer; 2. Jason Rogers; 3. Angel Munoz; 4. Mike Petersilie; 5. Will Bauer; 6. Mark Zorn; 7. Travis Baird; 8. Marlin Hogie; 9. Anthony Finch; 10. Ondre Rexford; 11. Gerald Walker; 12. Richard Knoll; 13. Troy Burkhart; 14. Dalton Bauer; 15. Josh Siebert; 16. Donald Kaup; 17. Brandon Ballard; 18. Chris Oliver; 19. Tyler Walker; 20. Zach McLemore; 21. Shaylan Holloway.