Deery Series returns to Cedar County Raceway for opening night

Deery Brothers Summer Series

TIPTON, Iowa – The Deery Brothers Summer Series returns to Cedar County Raceway for another opening night show this Saturday.

The April 20 event marks the second time in as many years that the IMCA Late Model tour has started its season at Tipton, where defending champion Justin Kay of Wheatland has won the last four series events. 

That equals a feat accomplished by just one other driver through the series’ first 32 years. Mark Burgtorf of Quincy, Ill., won four straight Deery features at Lee County Speedway from 1998-2000.

Saturday’s feature pays $2,000 to win and a minimum of $300 to start.

Pit gates open at 4 p.m. and the grandstand opens at 5 p.m.  Hot laps are at 6:30 p.m. with racing to follow. 

Spectator admission is $18 for adults, $15 for seniors and students and free for kids ages 12 and under when accompanying a paid adult. Pit passes are $30 

More information is available by calling event promoter Bob Wagener at 563 340-4079.

Nine previous Deery events have been held at Tipton since 1996; Kay is the only driver with multiple feature wins to his credit there.

The series is at Independence Motor Speedway for another $2,000 to win show on Saturday, April 27. A top prize of $2,500 is at stake the next night, when Dubuque Speedway hosts the event rescheduled from last weekend.