Lapped traffic is a late menace before Dennis wins Stuart’s Ron Little Memorial 

Jesse Dennis held off all challengers and maneuvered through lapped traffic in winning the IMCA Modified feature at Stuart Speedway’s Ron Little Memorial. (Photo by Jim Zimmerline)

By Josh Reynolds

STUART, Iowa (Sept. 22) – Lapped traffic was almost a factor in the final laps, but Jesse Dennis picked up the IMCA Modified win and $1,500 payday at Stuart Speedway’s Ron Little Memorial.

Dennis had taken the lead early in Saturday’s 30-lap race with Red Monson and then Cody Laney in the second spot. Laney made a charge and got up alongside Dennis a few times but couldn’t quite get the pass completed.

A couple cautions slowed the field, but each time it was Dennis, Laney and Monson at the front.

At the checkered flag it was Dennis picking up the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot-qualifying win. Laney finished second with Monson third, Richie Gustin fourth and Kelly Shryock fifth.

One hundred and eighteen cars overflowed the pits for the 20th annual event.

Sixth-starting Mike Nichols charged into the lead on lap two and drove to a convincing IMCA Sunoco Stock Car win ahead of Bryan Snell and Brandon Pruitt.

Eric Stanton led start to finish in the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock feature. John Watson and Nick Foster completed the top three.

Post-race disqualification of the apparent winner promoted Dusty Masolini to the top spot in the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod main.

Devin Jones prevailed over a big field of Mach-1 Sport Compacts after working his way up front from outside row four. Second was Curtis Miller and Denny Berghahn was third.

Feature Results

Modifieds – 1. Jesse Dennis; 2. Cody Laney; 3. Red Monson; 4. Richie Gustin; 5. Kelly Shryock; 6. Josh Gilman; 7. Jimmy Gustin; 8. Jeff James; 9. Jason Murray; 10. Chad Andersen; 11. Matthew Meinecke; 12. Josh Foster; 13. Russ Dickerson; 14. Taylor Musselman; 15. Randy Foote; 16. Alison Davidson; 17. Scott Bash; 18. Josh Cooper; 19. Tony Hilgenberg; 20. Ethan Dotson; 21. Todd Van Eaton; 22. Jacob Murray; 23. Nick Roberts; 24. Dylan Book.

Stock Cars – 1. Mike Nichols; 2. Bryan Snell; 3. Brandon Pruitt; 4. Jay Schmidt; 5. Brian Blessington; 6. Todd Van Eaton; 7. Chris Pruitt; 8. Donavon Smith; 9. Jeremy Gettler; 10. Brock badger; 11. Adam Klocke; 12. Michael Murphy; 13. Justin Coon; 14. Steve Roberts; 15. Johnathan Kinser; 16. Chad LeGere; 17. James Carroll; 18. Larry Robinson Jr.; 19. Tony Hardisty; 20. Larry Robinson Jr.; 21. Michael Bilyeu; 22. Mark Menard; 23. Ty Hill; 24. Josh Daniels; 25. Dillon Carlisle.

Hobby Stocks – 1. Eric Stanton; 2. John Watson; 3. Nick Foster; 4. Aaron Rudolph; 5. Adam Ayers; 6. Korbin Nourse; 7. Jeremy Purdy; 8. Jamie Songer; 9. Matt Tiernan; 10. Bob Daniels; 11. Chris Bates; 12. Rick Reiter; 13. Jerry Richards; 14. Tommy Beekman; 15. Gregg Anderson; 16. Jack Phillips; 17. Cody Cleghorn; 18. Tommy Killen Jr.; 19. Matthew Wahl.

Northern SportMods – 1. Dusty Masolini; 2. Chase Rudolf; 3. Austin Luellen; 4. Garrett Nelson; 5. Cody Olsen; 6. Jerod Weston; 7. Ethan Braaksma; 8. Matt Webb; 9. Jake Sachau; 10. Johnathon Logue; 11. Aaron Mitchell; 12. Ryan King; 13. Hunter Longnecker; 14. Robert Moore; 15. Mitchell Morris; 16. Chance Titus; 17. Jason Beckman; 18. Tommy Hensley; 19. Dustin Lynch.

Sport Compacts – 1. Devin Jones; 2. Curtis Miller; 3. Denny Berghahn; 4. John Gill; 5. Luke Benischek; 6. Cody Vandusen; 7. Dustin Grout; 8. Ashley Reuman; 9. Hunter Patrick; 10. Zak Sickles; 11. B.J. Charlson; 12. Zander Steiner; 13. Curtis Masterson; 14. Riley Paysen; 15. Austin Reuman; 16. David Kimmel; 17. Kolby Sabin; 18. Joseph Mastin; 19. Dean Richards; 20. Bruce Hower; 21. Cody Pierce; 22. Terry Hurley; 23. Cody Cleghorn; 24. Mitchell Bunch; 25. Spencer Roggentien; 26. Jake Benischek.