Championship Night is Saturday at Dodge City Raceway Park

By Lonnie Wheatley

DODGE CITY, Kan. – It all comes down to Saturday night at Dodge City Raceway Park.

A full season of racing action atop the 3/8-mile clay oval in southwest Kansas culminates with the sixth annual Jerry Soderberg Memorial Championship event on Sept. 15.

Saturday’s card that goes green at 7 p.m. marks the final round of championship chase action for each of the track’s five divisions including the Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars, IMCA Modifieds, IMCA SportMods, IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars and IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks.  The Sprint Car portion of the program will pit the DCRP Sprint Cars versus the United Rebel Sprint Series (URSS).

Soderberg was very instrumental in helping form the URSS in its beginning 13 years ago and this Memorial event in his honor is always a popular race for the traveling series. Past winners of the event include Zach Blurton in 2013, Taylor Velasquez in 2014 and 2015, Jake Bubak in 2016 and Ve­lasquez again in 2017.

Past Jerry Soderberg Memorial Championship Winners

2017 – Taylor Velasquez (Sprint Cars), William Nusser (Modifieds), Brian Davidson (Sport Mods), An­gel Munoz (Stock Cars), Duane Wahrman (Hobby Stocks).

2016 – Jake Bubak (Sprint Cars), Cole Traugott (Modifieds), Jeff Kaup (SportMods), Michael Pep­per (Stock Cars), David Berger (Hobby Stocks).

2015 – Taylor Velasquez (Sprint Cars), Brendon Gemmill (Modifieds), Jamie French (Sport Mods), Angel Munoz (Stock Cars), Reagan Sellard (Hobby Stocks).

2014 – Taylor Velasquez (Sprint Cars), Jesse Richter (Modifieds), Nate Ginest (Sport Mods), Ron Hartman (Stock Cars).

2013 – Zach Blurton Sprint Cars), Ryan Heger (Modifieds), Josh Appel (SportMods), Ron Hart­man (Stock Cars).

General admission for the Soderberg Memorial is $20 with children 11 and under admitted free when accompanied by an adult.