Blurton collects career 4th Soderberg Memorial win

Zach Blurton became a four-time winner of Dodge City Raceway Park’s Jerry Soderberg Memo­rial event on Saturday night. (Photo by Lonnie Wheatley)

By Lonnie Wheatley

DODGE CITY, Kan. (Sept. 19) – Zach Blurton added a fourth Jerry Soderberg Memorial Champion­ship win to his resume by topping Saturday’s season-ending DCRP vs. United Rebel Sprint Series feature event atop the 3/8-mile Dodge City Raceway Park clay oval. 

Blurton slid past Kyler Johnson on a lap three restart and led to the finish of the 25-lapper for IMCA Racesaver Sprint Cars for his second Dodge City win of the year and third consecutive win in the season-ender. 

After an early red flag, Blurton weathered one more red flag seven laps shy of the checkered flag when Connor Atkinson flipped in turn two.

Blurton took off again on the restart and posted the win ahead of Johnson with Jeff Stasa, J.D. Johnson and Luke Cranston rounding out the top five.

Feature results – 1. Zach Blurton; 2. Kyler Johnson; 3. Jeff Stasa; 4. J.D. Johnson; 5. Luke Cranston; 6. Koby Walters; 7. Jordan Knight; 8. Taylor Velasquez; 9. Ty Williams; 10. Jed Wer­ner; 11. Ray Seemann; 12. Tyler Knight; 13. Lance Davis; 14. Kris Moore; 15. Howard Van Dyke; 16. Jake Martens; 17. Brian Herbert; 18. Connor Atkinson; 19. Ross Essenberg; 20. Kohl Ricke; 21. Brady Skrdlant.