Huls scores 100th IMCA Stock Car win at Lee County

Abe Huls won for the 100th time in his IMCA Sunoco Stock Car career Friday at Lee County Speed­way. (Photo by D&M Racing Photography)

By Brian Neal

DONNELLSON, Iowa (Aug. 17) – Abe Huls was the winner for the 100th time in his career Friday, prevailing at Pepsi Lee County Speedway.

Kevin Koontz and Cody McClure made up the front row but fourth starting John Oliver Jr. grabbed the lead and set the early pace out front while the rest of the field battled two- and sometimes three-wide behind him.

Huls, who started fifth and fell back to sixth on the opening circuit, worked himself into the runner up spot on lap five and then went to work on Oliver for the top spot.

Huls tried to work under Oliver as the two raced side-by-side around the 3/8-mile oval. Oliver was able to hold him off until lap 12, when Huls edged out front.

Oliver stayed glued to Huls’ back bumper over the final laps but was unable to get by Huls for the win. Huls held on for his career 100th victory and sixth local win of the season ahead of Oliver, Jeremy Pundt and Beau Taylor.

Bill Roberts Jr. held off Dennis LaVeine and Jeff Waterman in winning the Budweiser IMCA Modi­fied main event. Daniel Fellows was first to the checkers in the Discount Tire & Service IMCA North­ern SportMod feature.

Jake Dietrich topped the Armstrong Tractor IMCA Sport Compacts for his first win in the 4-cylin­der class.

Coming up next Friday, August 24th at Pepsi Lee County Speedway will be “Throwback” Season Championship Night, presented by Shottenkirk. Racing starts at 7:30 p.m.