Velasquez rebounds for Dodge City RaceSaver Sprint win

By Lonnie Wheatley DODGE CITY, Kan. (May 26) – Just one weekend removed from a wild heat race flip, Taylor Velasquez bounced right back to win Saturday’s 25-lap United Rebel Sprint Series vs. Precise Racing Products Sprint Car Clash main event at Dodge City Raceway Park. Velasquez put his IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car out front at the outset from the pole position and capitalized on a lap 20 caution that negated a Jake Martens pass for the lead to secure the win. Given a reprieve, Velasquez burst out to a lead of several car lengths as the race restarted, but Martens closed back in and tried to slip under in the final pair of corners only to fall two car-lengths short at the stripe. “This week has been blood, sweat and tears,” Velasquez explained.  “I wasn’t really sure how I’d feel tonight.  Getting through the heat race was the most important part of the night. After that, I got a lot more comfortable in the car.” Gunning into the lead at the drop of the green flag, [Read More]


Martin denies Day for URSS victory at 81 Speedway 

PARK CITY, Kan. (May 27) – Jason Martin took the lead in the early stages and then held off a late-race challenge by Michael Day to claim the United Rebel Sprint Series 25-lap feature finale during at 81 Speedway’s Sprint Car Maynia II Sunday night. The 10th starting Martin passed both Colby Estes and Day in taking over the front spot just seven laps in the IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car headliner. His first encounter with the back of the field began on lap 11 while holding onto his half-stretch lead at midway. With drivers utilizing the top and bottom of the 3/8’s mile oval, passing was intense throughout the event. With five laps to go, it appeared Martin would be able to cruise but Day closed the deficit to five car lengths with four laps to go. Approaching another slower car on the last lap, Day looked to make one last challenge for the lead but Martin got a good run between turns three and four to take the three car-length victory. Jake Martens came [Read More]


URSS concentrates on quality, payout in 2018

OBERLIN, Kan. – The Myers Engines sponsored United Rebel Sprint Series will go into its 13th season in 2018 with a tentative schedule paying more money than any other season in the past. “We’ve tried to concentrate more on quality shows this year with most races paying a minimum of $1,000 to win,” said founder Rick Salem. Salem also said additional races are still in the works and as soon as verified will be added to the schedule. One highlight will be the Dodge City, Kan., Raceway Park 305 Nationals on June 15 and 16 with the winner taking home a cool $3,000 and a minimum of $600 paid to start the Saturday night main event. RPM Speedway in Hays, Kan., will host the 10th annual Wheatshocker Nationals on July 14 and 15, which will pay $2,000 to win. Lance Pittmann will again provide a custom smoker/pellet grill courtesy of S&W Supply/Federated Auto Parts out of Hays to the overall point leader for the two-day event. The Rebels will visit Thayer County Speedway in Deshler, [Read More]


URSS prepares to wrap up season at 81 Speedway

WICHITA, Kan. – The Myers Engine United Rebel Sprint Series National Series will put a wrap to the 2017 season this Saturday night, Oct. 14 when it makes its second and final appearance of the year at C. Ray Hall’s 81 Speedway in Wichita, Kan. With 12 different winners in the 15 races held this year, the parity and competition in the IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car series is second to none. This race will be no exception as Zach Blurton leads the Rebels into town. A great field of cars is expected as several entries from Nebraska and Oklahoma will make the trip for the $1,000 to win, minimum $200 to start event. Racing starts at 7 p.m.