Skyline’s Summer Showdown sports top IMCA Modified check of $10,000

VIRGIL, N.Y. (June 27, 2022) – The biggest event of the season in New York and in the Dirt Works Eastern Region is in the works July 8 and 9 at Skyline Raceway Motorsports Park. Friesen Performance IMCA Modifieds race for $10,000 to win at the inaugural Summer Showdown at the 3/8-mile dirt speed factory in central New York.  “We want IMCA Modifieds to run for a big purse on East Coast soil,” explained promoter Brad Smith. “We want to get a bad fast bunch of cars here and when fans go home from this race, we want them to be thinking ‘that was a great show.’”  “We have already got a lot of response. A lot of people are looking forward to it and calling about the format,” he continued. “We want to show what the IMCA Modifieds from New York, Pennsylvania, Michigan, North Carolina, Florida and so far as far away as Iowa are capable of.”  Pre-registration of $176 – 76 was the car number of former state champion Smith during his 10-year career in. [Read More]


Sites on target in NY-Penn IMCA Modified Series opener at Skyline

By Evan Canfield VIRGIL, N.Y. (April 30, 2022) – After a solid season in 2021, the off-season was not kind to Eddie Sites and his brother, Close Racing Supply NY-Penn IMCA Modified Series presented by Precision Hydraulic & Oil defending champion Brad Sites. On Feb. 13th, their race shop burned to the ground, causing them to lose much of their racing organization. Fortunately, nobody was hurt and their cars were able to be salvaged.  On Saturday night, with burnt panels on the sides of the black and blue no. 15 Friesen Performance IMCA Modified, Eddie Sites was able to overcome their winter setback and put his machine back in victory lane in the 2022 series opener at Skyline Raceway Motorsports Park.  Eddie Sites and Keith Jack Lamphere started on the front row after a full field redraw. Sites jumped out to an early lead with Lamphere close behind.  Through the early laps, single car spins on a dry, slick track brought out several cautions. Brad Sites and Rodney Morgan, both series winners in 2021, were [Read More]