Hughes, Alvarado visit victory lane at Duel in the Desert opener 

By Mike Spieker LAS VEGAS, Nev. (Nov. 8) – The 21st annual IMCA Duel in the Desert kicked off Thursday even­ing at the Dirt Track at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. With the largest number of pre-entries in five years, the IMCA Modifieds boasted a field of 206 drivers, while the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods came in at a record 97 entries. Jason Hughes and Ricky Alvarado picked up $777 wins in their respective IMCA Modified fea­tures. The first main event began with Hughes taking the lead from the pole position, but the race was quickly slowed on lap one for a multi-car pile up in turn one. On the ensuing restart, Hughes led over Tom Berry Jr. and Peyton Taylor as Cody Laney slipped from second to fourth. R.C. Whitwell took advantage of the lap five restart, moving by Laney for the fourth and final trans­fer position to Saturday night’s $7,777 to win main event. Whitwell applied heavy pressure on Taylor but couldn’t complete the pass. Hughes and Berry broke away from the rest of the [Read More]


IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Cars have Sept. 13 date at Las Vegas Motor Speedway Dirt Track

LAS VEGAS, Nev. – IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Cars converge at the Dirt Track at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on Thursday, Sept. 13 during NASCAR’s Fall South Point 400 Weekend. The Clash On The Clay date on the fast half-mile pays $1,500 to win and $300 to start, with IMCA Speedway Motors Weekly Racing National points awarded as well. Pit gates will open at noon and practice sessions are scheduled for 6 p.m. and 9 p.m. on Wednesday, Sept. 12. On race day, pit gates open at 9:45 a.m. and tech starts at 10:30 a.m. Hot laps are at 2;10 p.m., the drivers’ meeting is at 3:30 p.m. and racing starts at approximately 3:45 p.m. Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series drivers Kevin Harvick and Clint Bowyer will be featured guests at a Sept. 13 autograph session that evening.   They’ll be joined by a number of other popular drivers from NASCAR’s top three series at the autograph session, which will run from 6-7 p.m. Pacific Standard Time inside the Dirt Track ticket gates.

Terry Phillips

Phillips’ trophy case will display four of a kind after latest IMCA Modified Duel In The Desert win

LAS VEGAS, Nev. (Nov. 11) – Nothing slowed Terry Phillips on his way to a career fourth IMCA Modified Duel In The Desert victory and a $7,777 paycheck Saturday at the Las Vegas Motor Speedway Dirt Track. Phillips led all but the first of 40 laps, nearly hitting the wall getting around traffic before pulling ahead to win nearly eight seconds ahead of Eddie Belec. The race stayed green the last 36 laps. Peyton Taylor, Johnny Scott and Cody Laney rounded out the top five finishers at the 20th annual event, the biggest of the season in IMCA’s Larry Shaw Racing Western Region. “These slick tracks, I like them. I guess I’m getting a little long in the tooth, but I’ve got a lot more left in me, probably more than most of these young kids,” said Phillips, from Springfield, Mo., and also the Duel winner in 2010, 2011 and 2014. “There were a couple lanes and I was all over this thing. It was awesome.” Arvada, Colo., speedsters Belec and Dominic Ursetta made up [Read More]


Belec, Phillips top Thursday Duel In The Desert IMCA Modified qualifying features

LAS VEGAS, Nev. (Nov. 9) – Eddie Belec and Terry Phillips were IMCA Modified qualifying fea­ture winners on Thursday, opening night of the 20th annual Duel In The Desert at Las Vegas Mo­tor Speedway. Belec outran a charging Cody Laney to top the first qualifier on the LVMS half-mile Dirt Track while Phillips, a three-time Duel winner, pulled away from Ricky Thornton Jr. over the final circuits in the nightcap. Both qualifiers paid $777 to win and sent the top four to Saturday’s $7,777 to win main event. Jus­tin O’Brien and Rob Sanders also advanced from the first qualifier, Ricky Alvarado and Jason Noll from the second. Belec mastered lapped traffic and Laney found the speed he needed late in the first 25-lapper. While Belec kept an iron fist on the front spot, Laney got under Sanders and then O’Brien to take over second with five circuits to go. Belec took the checkers four car lengths ahead of Laney. Alvarado led through the first 10 circuits of the nightcap before Phillips motored by and began [Read More]