Trenchard, Killingsworth are fastest on Friday at Yreka

Nick Trenchard raced his way back to the winner’s circle at Yreka Speedway Friday night, topping the Friesen Performance IMCA Modified main event. He’d be joined in victory lane by wife Nicole, daughter Blayne and his father Jon. (Courtesy Photo)

By Ben Deatherage

YREKA, Calif. (July 5, 2024) – Yreka Speedway set the stage for an electrifying start to the month of July on Friday with the Friesen Performance IMCA Modifieds and Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMods in action.

Nick Trenchard would win the Modified main at Yreka for the third time this season while hometown hotshoe Ethan Killingsworth notched his ninth Northern SportMod victory, and fourth of 2024 at Yreka. 

The Modified main event started with a three-wide battle between Mark Wauge, Trenchard and Jacob Mallet Jr. Trenchard beat both on the backstretch and was the pacesetter.

Mallet stayed in Trenchard’s tire tracks but things slowed down with two down for a caution. On the restart, Trenchard was good, while Wauge, in third, felt a little bit of pressure from Monte Bischoff.  

As the race stayed green, Mallet was close to Trenchard but could not find a way around. As the laps clicked away, Trenchard had just enough of an advantage to have some breathing room and continued to operate smoothly on the high side.

Trenchard would score a third win of the season ahead of Mallet, Wauge, Bischoff and Katelynn Robertson.

The Northern SportMod feature started with Killingsworth, and Ryan Peery battling it for first on the opening lap. Killingsworth secured the position and began to separate from Peery.

On lap five, the race for third would spice up when Jeffrey Hudson navigated around Jorddon Braaten. Braaten, who returned the favor on lap 10.

Peery tried his best to close in on Killingworth but the trailblazer made some daring moves to get around slower cars. This allowed Killingsworth to get back in the open and rebuild his advantage.

Killingsworth tamed the field the rest of the distance to win his ahead of Peery, Braaten, Hudson and Cory Biggs.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply