Clemens proves fastest In the Falls at Electric City

Ty Clemens was fastest when it counted most and topped the July 4 Fastest in the Falls feature for Friesen Performance IMCA Modifieds at Electric City Speedway. (Photo by MVI Racing Photography)

By Ben Deatherage

GREAT FALLS, Mont. (July 4, 2024) – Fireworks on the track followed fireworks over Great Falls, and the rest of the Friesen Performance IMCA Modified field followed Ty Clemens to the finish of the 40-lap Fastest In the Falls main event at Electric City Speedway.

The Belgrade hotshoe, already Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational qualifying eligible, banked $2,100 for the Fourth of July victory, which came ahead of hometown speedsters Joey Price, Kolby Hannah and David Davis.

The main event had kicked off with Kody Kuglin seizing the lead in the first set of corners. The race for second heated up among Clemens, Michael Leach and Joey Price. Leach secured the position just before a lap two caution.

Kuglin and Leach led the pack back to green, with Price holding onto third. Just when it seemed like the race was settling into a rhythm, another yellow flag waved. Then the race took another unexpected turn. Kuglin came to an unfortunate halt under yellow and Leach found himself in the lead.

Leach set the fast pace while Taylor Johnson duked it out with Price for second. Johnson got the position while Leach checked out. Clemens obtained third when they came past the flag stand for the 10th time.

Leach hit heavy lapped traffic and handled it well but experienced rear-end issues and pulled off the track on lap 16. Johnson became the new pacesetter.

Johnson hit his fair share of slower cars and got bogged down behind some of them, but he got a break at the midway point due to a caution, which resulted in a fuel stop. When everyone got gassed up for the rest of the way, Johnson was perfect on the restart and attempted to reconstruct his decent-sized lead.

Price tried to challenge Clemens for second on the restart, but Clemens was just a tad better. Clemens secured second while on lap 24, Hannah blitzed past Price for third.

Heavy traffic came into play again with seven circuits remaining just as Clemens and Hannah started closing in on Johnson, who got caught up with a lapped car in turn one, presenting a scare with five to go, but retained the top spot.

When the green flag was unleashed for the final time, Hannah and Clemens went on the offensive to quickly negotiate Johnson. Hannah and Johnson made slight contact in the second, scrubbing speed from both drivers and allowing Clemens to perform a double overtake with three laps to run.

Price tried to make a move around Clemens, but the 2022 Shaw Race Cars Western Region champion built a good head of steam to hold on and capture the victory. The sixth starter became the first repeat winner in 2024 at Electric City.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply