Burke, Mead top IMCA features at Ocean

Cody Burke raced to the Friesen Performance IMCA Modified checkers in the Friday night show at Ocean Speedway. (Photo by Top Dawg Photos

Steven Blakesley 

Blakesley Sports Media

WATSONVILLE, Calif. (May 31, 2024) – Ocean Speedway in Watsonville hosted a special Friday night show with Cody Burke and Jeff Mead earning exciting wins at the Santa Cruz County Fairgrounds dirt track.

After a winless 2023 season, former track champion Burke prevailed for the second time in 2024 in the Friesen Performance IMCA Modifieds.

Robert Marsh jumped ahead of Burke to lead the opening lap of the 25-lap feature. Marsh built up a large lead before approaching lapped traffic. The caution flew for a spinning car in turn two.

Burke marched towards Marsh on the restart and took the lead from car no. 22 on lap 22. Burke led the final three laps for victory followed by seventh-starting Bobby Hogge IV, Marsh, Austin Burke and Jim Pettit II.

Jeff Mead led all 20 laps for the Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMod win.

Emali VanHoff prevailed in a fast-paced race for second followed by 2023 track champion Chuck Golden, TJ Etchison and Brian Baggett.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply