Lemke, Larson, Franzen, LaMar are All Star Night winners

By Jerry Mackey

MAQUOKETA, Iowa (April 13, 2024) – The Darkside Promotions All Star Night welcomed over 100 race cars on a warm Mid-April evening on Saturday night. The race hungry fans were treated to an exciting night of racing. 

Friesen Performance IMCA Modifieds saw Illinois un-retired driver Scotte Lemke pick up the win. Lemke was a fixture at Tri-State tracks in the late 1990’s and early 2000’s before sitting out for 16 years. The veteran showed he still is to be reckoned with as he led all 30 laps in route to the win.

Jeff Larson applied pressure in the early going and it appeared the friends were going to provide a thrilling race but Larson was sidelined with tire failure as the race passed midway. Dan Roedl and Drew Janssen applied the heat to Lemke in the latter half of the main. At the checkers it was Lemke scoring the win ahead of Roedl and Janssen. 

Larson was given the opportunity to drive Lee Kinsella’s IMCA Sunoco Stock Car and gave the 21 car a ride.

Gage Neal led early from the pole before Larson and Jacob Ellithorpe made it a three-car battle for the lead. Also advancing to join the lead pack was ninth starting Rod Snellenberger.

Very late in the race the leaders came on lapped traffic and Ellithorpe was leading but got pinched behind slower traffic, allowing Larson to take the top spot and go on to record the win. Snellenberger nipped Ellithorpe for second at the line. 

A strong field of Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMods was on hand. Shane Paris drew the pole and appeared to be the man to beat but hometowner Jarrett Franzen had other ideas.

Franzen wrestled the lead away from Paris and go on to score the 20-lap feature win ahead of third row starter Ryan Walker. Paris crossed the finish line in third. 

Veteran Randy LaMar scored the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock feature win. Lamar started 10th on the grid but worked to the front quickly taking the lead from Daniel Wauters. LaMar led a pack of cars to the finish line with Scott Wetter finishing second just ahead of Jordan Miles. 

Saturday, April 20th will be the 2024 season opener at Maquoketa Speedway as the drivers will earn their valuable IMCA track points. IMCA Sunoco Late Models will make their season debut. Hot laps will take to the quick quarter mile at 6 p.m. with racing to follow. 

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply