Sobiesczyk sails to redemption and $10K at Captain of the Creek

Tyler Sobiesczyk turned his Captain of the Creek fortunes around with the $10,000 Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMod main event win Wednesday at 141 Speedway. (Photo by Joe Slack,

FRANCIS CREEK, Wis. (Aug. 16, 2023) – Tyler Sobiesczyk earned $10,000 worth of redemption Wednesday night at 141 Speedway’s East Central Coin Captain of the Creek.

The Shawano speedster got to the lead late in the 50-lapper, then outran fellow Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMod heavyweights Logan Anderson, Colby Fett and Cam Reimers to the career-best payday.

“It doesn’t get any better than this. Everything just came together for us,” Sobiesczyk said following his eighth checkers of the season. “We’ve been having an awesome year in general but to win this crown jewel race is huge. It’s huge for me as a driver, it’s huge for our team and huge for our sponsors, especially doing it racing against so many good drivers.”

He’d started second and pursued Coy Vlies early on, then lost another position when Anderson drove by and into the lead.

The chase was on from that point, with Sobiesczyk catching Vlies and finally reeling in Anderson in heavy lapped traffic.

“For a while I was trying to stay relevant. The middle line came to me but it seemed like I followed Anderson forever before I could pass him with 10-12 laps to go,” he said. “Coy is a very good driver who I respect a lot. I haven’t raced much with Logan but I knew he was fast.”

Fett had started 14th, 2021 race winner Reimers 12th. Vlies rounded out the top five as the fifth annual special brought a who’s who of 68 Northern SportMod entries to Francis Creek.

“This race had been the bane of me,” said Sobiesczyk, scored last in 2020, a DNQ the next year and relegated to a mid-pack finish after challenging for the lead last August. “This year I got redemption in a way.”

A Shawano Speedway regular, his previous career best payday had been $1,750.

Sobiesczyk won on opening night of a fall special at 141 three years ago and had opted against at leap into the infield pond there and getting his driver’s suit wet.

“I’ve looked forward to jumping in the pond since then,” said Sobiesczyk, still soaked when victory lane photos were taken.

Feature results – 1. Tyler Sobiesczyk; 2. Logan Anderson; 3. Colby Fett; 4. Cam Reimers; 5. Coy Vlies; 6. Derek Fehling; 7. Cory Kemkes; 8. Zachary Raab; 9. Kenny Richards; 10. Cole Fenske; 11. Brayton Carter; 12. Austin Stamm; 13. Dylon Waldvogel; 14. Andy Klosterman; 15. Bruce Belland; 16. Matt Avila; 17. Taylor Kuehl; 18. Chris Budzban; 19. Jake Carpenter; 20. Skyler Woods; 21. Dustin White; 22. Robert Wittkopf; 23. Jake Sachau; 24. Ben Chapman.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply