Bodin, Nelson, Stamm, Richardson all score first Maquoketa wins 

By Jerry Mackey

MAQUOKETA, Iowa (Aug. 5, 2023) – Regular IMCA Speedway Motors Weekly Racing returned to Maquoketa Speedway following the Jackson County Fair and several drivers scored their first-ever Maquoketa wins during a program that saw a huge field of 122 drivers take part in the action. 

The IMCA Sunoco Late Model feature saw a new driver make his way to victory lane following the action-packed 25-lap feature.

Jesse Bodin made the jump into the Late Models after racing a Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMod the last few years. Bodin raced to the front from his third row start and went on to score his first-ever win at the Maquoketa Speedway topping a strong 21-car field. 

Bodin took the win ahead of a couple of very strong weekly contenders at the Maquoketa Speedway. Dalton Simonsen nipped Andy Nezworski for second at the line. 

Jeff Larson is closing in on a career milestone in the Friesen Performance IMCA Modifieds and scored his 99th career feature win in the division on Saturday.

Larson was the Maquoketa Speedway track champion in 2021 and the title helped propel him to the IMCA Modified national crown. Larson advanced from the fourth row to overtake race leader Joe Beal as the main crossed under the checkers for the halfway mark. Larson raced on to the win ahead of Beal and Mark Schulte. 

Richard Nelson added his name to the Maquoketa Speedway winners list by capturing the win in the IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars. Nelson took the lead early from his second row start and went on to take the win over a fast-closing Brett Vanous. Larson drove the no. 2x Double Cheeseburger Racing Stock Car to a third place finish. 

The Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMods saw a stout field of 20 drivers take the green for their main event.

When the checkers flew it was Austin Stamm making his way to victory lane for the first time. Stamm battled to the front from his eighth starting spot. Stamm took the lead from Randy Farrell and went on to record the win ahead of Shane Paris and Farrell. 

The IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks saw another first-time victor at the Maquoketa Speedway. Sixteen-year-old rookie Tucker Richardson was able to break out of a pack of four drivers who had a shot at the win late in the race.

Richardson recorded the win ahead of Lukas Short and Kyler Hefty. 

Saturday, Aug. 12 will see the Maquoketa Speedway crown the 2023 IMCA Sunoco Late Model track champion. All regular classes plus the AIRS Cars will be in action with hot laps getting underway at 6 p.m. 

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply