Nielsen wins Weishaar Memorial race

By Greg Grabianowski

ALGONA, Iowa (July 20, 2023) – Brandon Nielsen was the big winner of the $1,000 Jess Weishaar IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock Memorial race held Thursday at Kossuth County Speedway.

Aaron Rudolph and Josh Sidles brought the 22-car field to flag stand to take the green flag in the final race of the night as they raced for the $1,000 first place check in honor resident and race fan Jess Weishaar, slain in a 2019 bank robbery.

Rudolph edged ahead after the first trip around the Algona oval as Josh Sidles and Rudolph went door-to-door the first five laps for the lead in the feature.

The caution flag appeared on six and Mike Smith grabbed the lead off the restart, but that only lasted three laps as Nielsen became the new leader at the halfway point of the 20-lap feature race.

The yellow flag reappeared on 11 and came out again one lap later as Tyler Beckler and Brianna Osterson got tangled up in turn two.

Once the green flag came back out, Nielsen was not to be denied as he captured his second feature win of the season at the oval and his best payout of the year by far.

Smith was the runner-up as Cody Hubbell was third, Rudolph placed fourth and Gavin Bussinger took fifth place.

The 10-car Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMod feature saw Alec Fett take over the top spot and lead the final 14 laps to earn his first feature win of the season at the track.

Matt Looft kept the heat on Fett but had to settle for second. Alex Smith finished third as Justin Raymond and Jake Simpson rounded out the top five cars. 

Jeremy Mills was the Friesen Performance IMCA Modified winner for the fifth straight week and McCain Jennings motored to IMCA Sunoco Stock Car checkers number four this season at Kossuth County. Oliver Monson’s Mach-1 IMCA Sport Compact victory was his sixth locally of 2023.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply