Serbus sprints to Dan Grams Memorial checkers

Trevor Serbus topped Arlington Raceway’s $1,000 to win Dan Grams Memorial main event for IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Cars Saturday night. (Photo by Sarah Moriarty)

ARLINGTON, Minn. (July 15, 2023) – Trevor Serbus was again victorious in the Henderson RoadHaus Dan Grams Memorial feature for IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Cars Saturday at Arlington Raceway.

Serbus drew the outside front row start and ran up front the total distance to win the race and $1,000. 

There was a red flag on the first lap when Michael Stien rolled over in the second set of turns. Bill Johnson got collected as well in and they were both out of the race. Brett Allen got the lucky dog award as he had gotten too high in turn two and fell off the back side of the track, losing several spots in the process, but the red was called and a complete restart occurred.

That put Allen starting on the pole next to Serbus. After the first lap, another yellow happened for a spinning car. This time the field started single file and Mike Stien started ahead of Allen. On that restart, Matt Johnson moved through traffic and took the second spot but Serbus was a half a lap ahead and maintained his lead. 

Lapped traffic came into play halfway through the race, putting more distance between second and third place.

Another battle was behind Johnson as Allen and Jeremy Snow kept exchanging spots for several laps but it was Allen who crossed the line first. Matt Johnson was the RockStar Hard charger winner as he gained 10 spots in the race. 

The IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature was just as exciting with 19 cars starting and 18 cars finishing. The early leader was Matt Looft as he led the first 13 laps. A yellow flag came out for Randy Melvin as he was trying to get into the pit and didn’t make it all the way.

On the restart, the Ford powered no. 87 of Brent Uecker took over the top spot. For the remaining seven laps, Matt Speckman got alongside Uecker but couldn’t pass him and settled for second. Chad Schroeder placed third.

Looft won the Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMod feature as he led from start to finish. Jeff McCollum was right behind him for the first two laps but pulled into the pit on the third lap which then gave second to Jeff Lloyd albeit temporarily.

By lap nine, Zac Davis took second from Eric Larson and remained there until the checkered fell.

Alan Lahr was victorious in the Mach-1 IMCA Sport Compact feature, leading the entire distance to win. Dale Gatton was second ahead of Gary Schumacher.

The IMCA Sunoco Hobby feature saw carnage on the first lap and a familiar face in victory lane at the end.

By lap three Cory Probst had the lead from his ninth place start. Jed Trebelhorn tried unsuccessfully to take over the top spot but had to settle for second with Probst winning his ninth feature of the year. Chad Volk followed Trebelhorn to the checkers to finish third.

Dan Menk was the early leader in the Friesen Performance IMCA Modified feature as he paced the first eight laps before a caution gave second running Clint Hatlestad the chance to move ahead. Hatlestad won his third in a row feature with Menk and Todd Stinehart following at the line.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply