Trebelhorn triumphs at Arlington

Luke Trebelhorn won for the first time in his IMCA Sunoco Stock Car career at Arlington Raceway on Saturday night. (Photo by Sarah Moriarty)

ARLINGTON, Minn. (June 10, 2023) – The wins are what you race for and Luke Trebelhorn raced to his IMCA Sunoco Stock Car first Saturday at Arlington Raceway.

The second-year Stock Car driver started third, passed Mark Zimmerman on the seventh circuit and sailed to the checkers from that point, topping the 20-lapper in front of Dave Moriarty and Matthew Looft.

“This is a tough class but that’s what makes it fun,” said Trebelhorn, who had a heat win and a couple top 10 finishes as a rookie last season. The car was sett up nice. Wins are what you strive for. It was a good feeling to get this one off our back and a lot of the other competitors came over after the race to congratulate me.”

He’d won once in a Mach-1 Sport Compact, in 2015, before running an IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock and then getting into the Stock Car.

Despite a lengthy rain delay, the entire program was completed with 111 drivers signed in for the night. 

Clint Hatlestad was the Friesen Performance IMCA Modified winner and Matt Johnson wheeled his way to victory lane following the IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car main.

Cory Probst continued his winning ways in the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks while Looft collected another W in the Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMods and Alan Lahr prevailed in a caution-free Mach-1 IMCA Sport Compact feature.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply