Richardson races to career first win at CJ

By Jerry Mackey

COLUMBUS JUNCTION, Iowa (May 26, 2023) – Friday night saw a beautiful night for racing at the CJ Speedway. The program included great racing and a first-ever win on a night that saw the final checkered flag wave at 9:55 p.m. 

Tucker Richardson is a junior-to-be at Winfield-Mount Union High School and is in his first year of racing full-sized cars. Richardson, who comes from a racing family, made his sixth start in an IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock on Friday night.

Richardson led the main event early and was overtaken by Luke Phillips, but misfortune struck Phillips, as he was forced to the pit area with mechanical issues. Young Richardson went on to lead the final laps in route to an impressive win taking the checkers first ahead of a vastly improving Billy Stanford. David Crimmins made his first ever visit to CJ on Friday night and ran third.

The win, which will be the first of many for the 16-year-old Richardson, set off a big celebration in victory lane. 

Jarrett Brown has been the man to beat in the Friesen Performance IMCA Modifieds this year at CJ and continued his mastery of the 4/10th’s mile oval on Friday night.

Brown started sixth, quickly ran down early leader Brandon Banks and took the lead with just three laps completed. Brown went on to record the win ahead of Dakota Simmons. Jed Freiburger took third. 

A return to racing after several years off has turned into winning for Jim Redman. The sharp looking 14R of Redman took a very hard-fought win in the IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars.

The best of the best in Eastern Iowa IMCA Stock Cars were on hand Friday night and provided fans with a very entertaining race on the smooth, slick track. Three-wide racing was the norm before Redman broke out of the pack late in the race and held off Nathan Ballard for the win.

Tanner Allen made his second appearance at CJ for the 2023 season and turned in an impressive run, taking third. 

The Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMods had a solid field of 18 drivers take the green for their main event. Jared Miller led early before hard chargers Logan Anderson and Dylan VanWyk were able to chase down Miller.

Anderson was first to the front but his lead was short-lived as VanWyk was able to take the point and go on to record another win at CJ Speedway. VanWyk crossed the stripe ahead of Anderson and Trey Rock. 

And the Mach-1 IMCA Sport Compact feature was hotly contested early before Alex Hayes was able to secure the race lead. Hayes took the win ahead of William Michel and Darin Smith. 

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply