Smith stars twice in Sunday Lone Star Tour show at Devil’s Bowl

Cody Smith’s first Sunday night visit to victory lane came following an impressive run to the $1,000 checkers in the Lone Star Tour feature for IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars. (Photo by Stacy Kolar, Southern Sass Photography)

MESQUITE, Texas (March 5, 2023) – Cody Smith made two trips to victory lane, on night two of the Sunoco Race Fuels Lone Star Tour presented by Sniper Speed.

The Kaufman clipper dominated in winning the headline IMCA Sunoco Stock Car main event Sunday at Devil’s Bowl Speedway, then ended the show with a late drive to the front of the Smiley’s Racing Products IMCA Southern SportMod feature field.

Smith caught Jesse Sobbing for the lead three laps into the Stock Car feature and put some distance on the pack before the only caution of the contest flew after midway.

Jeffrey Abbey snuck into second following the restart but couldn’t close the gap over the final 10 times around the oval. Smith took the $1,000 win and B & B Racing Chassis All-Star Invitational qualifying eligibility ahead of Abbey and Saturday tour winner Paul White.

Also a Saturday winner at Kennedale, Smith motored to his second Southern SportMod checkers in as many nights by making the top side of the track work and passing Dean Abbey for the lead with five to go. Fellow multi-division stars Dean Abbey and White completed the top three.

IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Cars join the Stock Cars and Southern SportMods for the night three Lone Star Tour show Monday at Mesquite. Racing starts at 7 p.m.

All six tour events will be broadcast by IMCA.TV. Friday’s scheduled opener at KSP had been rained out and the Sunday show added at Devil’s Bowl.

Feature results – 1. Cody Smith; 2. Jeffrey Abbey; 3. Paul White; 4. Jesse Sobbing; 5. Dean Abbey; 6. Derek Green; 7. Jason Gore; 8. William Gould; 9. Shelby Williams; 10. Elijah Zevenbergen; 11. Shawn Graham; 12. G.W. Egbert IV; 13. Blake Clark; 14. Tim Clonch; 15. Gregory Muirhead; 16. Jason Rogers; 17. Michael Dabney; 18. Matt Guillaume; 19. Mike Albertsen; 20. Jared Siefert; 21. Trevor Egbert.