Championship Night ends season at Arlington 

ARLINGTON, Minn. (Sept. 24, 2022) – Season championship races did not disappoint Saturday at Arlington Raceway as there was great racing action all night long. 

The Mach-1 IMCA Sport Compact feature saw 20 drivers start the race. Marschall Robinson was the early leader but soon had to hold off Nate Coopman and the two traded spots for the first four laps before Coopman went pit side with a flat tire.

Robinson led the next two laps before Jason Bolte, who had started 12th, got around him. On lap 10, a yellow came out for Logan Kelly, who had moved into second and Alan Lahr, who was right with him along with Brock Braunworth. 

The checkers were thrown with Bolte winning, Justin Dose second and Josh Backstrom third. 

Chris Hansen won the mechanics’ race.

A first lap yellow flag came out in the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock feature when a flat tire sent Cory Probst to the pits for the rest of the night. Taylor Manderfield stayed in front following the first of the next two restarts.

Gavin Bassenger, who had moved up 11 spots, got around Manderfield to take the lead and go onto win the race. Manderfield took second with Dan Probst third.

Marschall Robinson won the mechanics’ race. Guest 10-year-old flagman Noah Rustman ran the flags for the Hobby Stock feature and did a great job throughout the race.

The Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMod feature saw Jeff Lloyd lead the field around before a lap seven caution. On the restart, Lloyd again took the lead with Matt Looft and Jeff Carter chasing him down. 

Contact was made between Carter and Lloyd as Carter threw a slider and Lloyd had to slow down, which gave the lead and win to Looft. Lloyd took second with Eric Larson third. 

Winner of the mechanics’ race was Mitch Carter.

Bill Johnson had the car to beat after an early stoppage in the IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car main. By lap 12 he was racing around lapped traffic before another caution erased that big advantage. 

On the restart, it was the duo of Bill and Matt Johnson battling with Dave Becker right behind them. After the white flag was displayed, son Matt pulled into the pit, ending his night while 10th starting Brett Allen got around Becker for second. 

Cary Zacharias won the mechanics’ race. 

Thirty IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars signed in to race their last event of the season. Ryan Grochow took the lead on the first lap, then battled with Jeff McCollum before Curt Lund became a contender.

Lund was in the lead at halfway and ended with the win ahead of Looft and Chad Schroeder.

Winner of the mechanics’ race was Chad Porter.

The Friesen Performance IMCA Modified feature saw fast laps and it was Clint Hatlestad who pulled out front and remained the leader to win the race. Trent Loverude took second and Dalton Magers took third. 

Chad Hoese took home the mechanics’ race trophy.