Mullen, Wilson are first at Outagamie fair  

By Edward Anschutz

SEYMOUR, Wis. (July 22, 2022) – Mike Mullen and Tyler Wilson were IMCA winners Friday at Outagamie Speedway.

Wyatt Block set the pace early in the Friesen Performance IMCA Modified 20-lap feature while Mullen set up shop on the outside groove. Mullen use his momentum to take the top spot on lap five, then distanced himself from the field and leaving the battle for second between Block and Jayden Schmidt.

Mullen had the race in hand but a caution with five laps remaining reset the field. Schmidt began to pressure Mullen using the low groove. With two laps remaining, Schmidt worked past Mullen out of turn two but the caution flew, erasing the pass and giving the lead back to Mullen.

On the final restart, Mullen switched to the low groove and held off Schmidt to earn his third feature win of the season. Schmidt had to settle for second at the pay window, Block was third, Benji LaCrosse took fourth and Cody Schroeder rounded out the top five.  

In IMCA Sunoco Stock Car action it was Clint Forstner jumping from his outside front row starting spot and into the lead.

As Forstner paced the field on the cushion, Dan Michonski was the first to challenge but his bid ended with a broken flex plate.  After starting 10th on the grid, Wilson stormed through the field and into the runner-up spot.

Wilson began to chip away at Forstner’s lead. A bobble by Forstner allowed Wilson to sneak by for the lead on lap 17. The caution flew a lap later, setting up a two-lap dash to the checkers.

Wilson got a great restart as Forstner clipped the front stretch wall, ending his night with a flat. Wilson went on the to score his first win of the season. Dan Sell Jr. had his best run of the year to place second, Nick Buckarma moved up 11 spots to take third, Larry Karcz was fourth and Jeremy Christians completed the top five.