Blume scores big win at Maquoketa Speedway

By Jerry Mackey

MAQUOKETA, Iowa (July 9, 2022) – Saturday saw perfect weather conditions for an action-packed night of racing at the Maquoketa Speedway.

The Friesen Performance IMCA Modified feature saw Austin Blume score his first win of the 2022 season at Maquoketa. Blume took off from his outside front row start and sailed on to the win by leading flag to flag. Blume took the win ahead of Jaden Fryer and last week’s feature winner, Matt Werner.

A strong field of 22 IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars took the green flag for their 15-lap feature. Chase Zaruba also joined the list of first time winners in 2022. Zaruba took the win ahead of 12th starter Tom Schmitt with Jerry Miles advancing from the fifth row to take third.

The Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMods provided another action-packed race as drivers ran three- and four-wide throughout their main event. When the checkers flew it was Jesse Bodin taking the win by a slim margin ahead of Jacob Arp and Shane Paris.

The IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks saw the feature winner decided in the tech area where the apparent winner was disqualified due to an illegal carburetor. Drew Burk was promoted to the top spot and Dylan Flogel was elevated to second ahead of Randy LaMar.

Cyle Hawkins continued his hot streak in the Mach-1 IMCA Sport Compacts. A hard crash eliminated the two Proehl brothers, allowing Hawkins to score the win. Henry Hess ran second ahead of Drew Wise.

Maquoketa Speedway will be idle Saturday, July 16. Racing will return on Saturday, July 23 with Hall of Fame Induction night at the races.