Bowers powers to Modified Madness checkers

Steven Bowers Jr. was the show Friday night, dominating the Friesen Performance IMCA Modified main event at US 36 Raceway. (Photo by Judy Staley)

By Rick Staley

OSBORN, Mo. (May 27, 2022) – Steven Bowers Jr. took the final checkers of the evening in dominating fashion Friday at US 36 Raceway’s Modified Madness.

Bowers, already Fast Shafts All Star Invitational qualifying eligible, swept the night as he dominated the Friesen Performance IMCA Modified main event, lapping all but the second-place contender on the way to the $1,100 win. 

Jacob Hobscheidt kept close to Bowers to finish second with Josh Munsen third.

Other IMCA winners during the evening at Osborn were Mike Nichols, Tim Eaton and Dillon Raffurty.

IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars never disappoint and this night would be no different as a blanket could cover the field of competitors doing battle. 

Conner Masoner took the early lead with Randy Smith Jr. and Bubba Beam in pursuit. Nichols roared through the field and duked it out with Masoner before pulling away to career victory number 587 in the division. Smith challenged before settling for second with big mover Nate Barnes third. 

Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMods charged to the track all drivers trying to engrave their name on the Wayne Hicks Memorial Trophy.

Eaton used a front row starting spot to propel himself to the lead. Arie Schouten challenged Eaton every lap with defending race winner Devyn Peterson moving through the pack. Adam Vrbka and Schouten would put on a show for the second spot, changing position every lap until the checkers.

Eaton picked up the checkers and big paycheck winning the feature with Vrbka second and Schouten third.

Raffurty again showed his poise and consistency, winning both his heat race and the IMCA STARS Mod Lite feature. Raffurty came from the back of the field to get past a fast Josh Guy and never looked back. Michael Raffurty moved through the field to place second with Guy third.