Row six start an advantage for Rogers in IMCA Lone Star Tour victory at Devil’s Bowl

Jason Rogers started 11th and finished first in Monday’s $1,000 to win Sniper Speed IMCA Lone Star Stock Car Tour main event at Devil’s Bowl Speedway. He’s pictured in victory lane with girlfriend and crew chief Gretchen Jennings. (Photo by Stacy Kolar, Southern Sass Photography)

MESQUITE, Texas (Feb. 21, 2022) – He was starting in row six but Jason Rogers knew he had an advantage over the 10 drivers lined up in front of him for Monday’s Sniper Speed IMCA Lone Star Stock Car Tour headliner at Devil’s Bowl Speedway.

“Looking at the cars ahead of me, they hadn’t seen how the track had changed,” explained Rogers, who followed his ‘B’ feature win with the $1,000 main event checkers on night two of the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car Tour. “There were a lot of heavy hitters up there but right then I thought I had a shot at it.”

Blake Clark was fastest early on, with Jesse Sobbing, G.W. Egbert IV and Jeffrey Abbey running 2-3-4 not far behind. 

Rogers raced his way into the top five seven circuits into the 25-lapper. His first charge to the front was erased by a lap 10 caution but he got the lead back for good the next time around.

“We brought a brand new Sniper to Texas and it was on a rail. We put it on the track and let it eat,” said Rogers, now eligible for the $10,000 Sunoco Race Fuels Bobby Bonus Bucks award if he can win again Saturday when the tour concludes at Kennedale Speedway Park. “After that caution, I still had a pretty good feeling I was going to be able to get back around. I felt I was that much quicker.”

From Selden, Kan., Rogers led Abbey by just over a second when the final caution waved with six to go. He pulled away again, beating 2019 tour champion Abbey, Lance Hanson Jr., Shelby Williams and Ryan Powers across the stripe. 

“Jeffrey and I are running identical cars. When I saw him pulling alongside me, I thought this was going to be good,” Rogers said. “I knew I needed to figure out where I was screwing up – I felt I was missing my marks in one corner – and I needed to find some more speed.”

The win, Rogers’ first of the season and IMCA Stock Car career 111th, makes him eligible to qualify for the B & B Racing Chassis All-Star Invitational.

“It’s good to start the season off like this,” he said. “Hopefully we’re going to have a good summer.” 

Hanson had started 13th, while buy-in Williams started last in the field of 21 and Powers started 16th. Nine states were represented in the main event field.

William Gould scored a dominating win in the IMCA Modified feature, ahead of Jon White and Ryan Williams. Rowdy Day outran Steven Ashcraft for the Smiley’s Racing Products Southern SportMod victory.

Devil’s Bowl hosts the Tuesday night installment of the Sniper Speed IMCA Lone Star Stock Car Tour with gates opening at 4 p.m. and racing at 7 p.m. All tour events are broadcast on IMCA.TV.

Feature results – 1. Jason Rogers, Selden, Kan.; 2. Jeffrey Abbey, Comanche; 3. Lance Hanson Jr., Palmer; 4. Shelby Williams, Bonham; 5. Ryan Powers, Kennedale; 6. Dan Mackenthun, Hamburg, Minn.; 7. Kyle Clough, Wallace, Neb.; 8. Jesse Sobbing, Malvern, Iowa; 9. G.W. Egbert IV, Salado; 10. Jordan Zillmer, Cleveland, N.D.; 11. Jason Riddle, Balch Springs; 12. Taylor Carver, Lockesburg, Ark.; 13. Blake Clark, Joshua; 14. Dustin Mooney, Forney; 15. Dallon Murty, Chelsea, Iowa; 16. George Egbert III, Salado; 17. William Gould, Calera, Okla.; 18. Chanse Hollatz, Clear Lake, Iowa; 19. Abe Huls, Carthage, Ill.; 20. Matt Speckman, Sleepy Eye, Minn.; 21. Mike Childs, Hudson Oaks.