First-time Hancock County competitor takes Night of 1,000 Stars IMCA Modified win

Tripp Gaylord topped the $3,000 to win IMCA Modified feature in his first-ever visit to Hancock County Speedway for Night of 1,000 Stars. (Photo by Icon Images)

BRITT, Iowa (Aug. 6) – Tripp Gaylord’s latest first-time track visit led him to victory lane at Hancock County Speedway. 

Gaylord raced from 10th starting to win Friday’s IMCA Modified Night of 1,000 Stars main event, and $3,000, at Hancock County Speedway. 

“This was our first time at Britt. Every IMCA Speedweek track is new to us,” the Colorado driver said. “It’s always nice to win the first time you race somewhere. We know that whenever we travel out of town we have to be at the top of our game.” 

Jeremy Mills led early in the 50-lapper before Kollin Hibdon ran him down. That pair battled for the lead before the charging Gaylord entered the fray. They ran three-wide for the lead for several laps with Gaylord in charge at the midway break.

Lapped traffic became a factor in the second half of the contest. Gaylord ran in heavy traffic the last five laps, beating Hibdon to the checkers by a couple car lengths.

Lucas Lamberies, Austin Wolf and Garett Wilson completed the top five. 

Gaylord has now won Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational qualifying eligibility features in four different states.

Kelly Shryock dominated the $1,000 to win IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature. He’s eligible to qualify for the B & B Chassis All-Star Invitational four times over and took the checkers ahead of Derek Green, Troy Swearingen, Cody Nielsen and Calvin Lange. 

George Nordman got out front early in the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod feature but it didn’t take Colby Fett long to pass him and then run away with the $1,000 win, his second win in as many nights. 

Alec Fett and Jake Sachau both moved up nine spots to second and third, respectively. Nordman was fourth and Charlie Stevens fifth.

After Micah Lavrenz led almost to halfway, Josh Sidles atoned for a misadventurous season championship night, racing from 10th to win the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock feature ahead of Brandon Nielsen, Carter Koop, Jay Sidles and Chris Krug. 

And Lucas Parson parked in victory lane following his fourth Mach-1 Sport Compact feature win of the season at Britt.