LaCrosse, Richards lead the way at Outagamie Speedway

By Edward Anschutz  

SEYMOUR, Wis. (Aug. 3) – Benji LaCrosse and Kenny Richards were IMCA winners Tuesday night at Outagamie Speedway.

Kelsy Hayes paced the opening laps of the IMCA Modified feature until Greg Gretz raced by up top on lap three.

Gretz immediately came under fire from LaCrosse, who was able to slip by for the lead on five. Gretz was up for the challenge and dogged the leader until midway, when Johnny Whitman came to call, racing to second and setting the fastest laps on the track.

A caution with three laps remaining bunched the field. As the green flew LaCrosse kept the competition at bay to score the feature win. Whitman had to settle for second, Brian Mullen rallied late to place third, Gretz was fourth and Wyatt Block Jr. rounded out the top five.

Action was red flagged on the opening lap of the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature as a multi-car crash saw Travis Van Straten end up on his roof. Eric Mahlik and Ronnie Christopher also received heavy damage. All drivers emerged unscathed but were done for the night.

Richards outraced pole sitter Rod Snellenberger on the opening lap of the $750 to win feature. Richards began to distance himself as the battle for second heated up. Brandon Czarapata worked to the outside of Snellenberger and that’s how the duo would stay the remainder of the event. Each took their turn as the runner-up but neither could gain ground on Richards.

In the end it was Richards bagging the cash and the trophy. Czarapata was able to secure second, Snellenberger was third, Trent Nolan placed fourth and Larry Karcz Jr. completed the top five. The win also makes Richards eligible to qualify for the B & B Chassis All-Star Invitational at the upcoming IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s.