Nelson wins Weishaar Memorial

Dylan Nelson was the $1,000 IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock feature winner at Kossuth County Speedway’s Jess Weishaar Memorial. (Photo by Greg Grabianowski)

By Greg Grabianowski 

ALGONA, Iowa (July 22) – Dylan Nelson led all 25 laps to collect the $1,000 first place winnings in the second annual Jess Weishaar Memorial and Mid-Summer IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock Shootout at Kossuth County Speedway. 

Nelson started on the inside of the second row and took the lead immediately and only a yellow flag on lap seven delayed his trip into victory lane for the big payday. 

Brandon Bombardo had a good run to finish in second as Mike Smith was third with Jesse Vanlaningham taking fourth and Josh Sidles was the fifth place car. 

Eric Knudson went from 23rd starting to eighth to earn an extra $200 for the feature’s hard. 

The IMCA Modifieds put on a good show as Nick Meyer grabbed the early lead. A caution flag came out on lap five as Meyer continued to lead, running on the bottom of the track. 

Jeremy Mills slowly reeled in Meyer using the top side of the oval and took over the lead one lap past halfway. Meyer took the lead right back on lap 12 before Mills retook the lead on lap 14. Mills did not give up that top spot as he won for the third straight week.

The IMCA Sunoco Stock Car class has been dominated all year long by Kelly Shryock but not on this night as Chad Palmer never trailed. Donovan Smith was runner-up and Shryock was third.

Sixteen Karl Kustoms Northern SportMods took the green flag as Alex Smith grabbed the early lead. The yellow flag appeared on lap three as a car spun out in front of the field as both Colby Fett and Charlie Stevens had nowhere to go and both drivers were done for the night after getting tangled up together. 

The race went non-stop from that point as Alec Fett took the lead one lap after the restart and never looked back. Pole sitter Gerald Curry finished second.

Dan Potts and Chris Wilson bought the 12-car Mach-1 Sport Compact field to the flagstand as Wilson took the early lead but bowed out on the fourth lap with a flat tire.

Jade Lange took over the top spot and never gave it back as he earned his second feature win of the season at the track. Tyler Fielbelkorn ended up second. 

This week is the big one at the track as the racers will be competing for an $85,000 purse on “Salute to Veterans” night as all veterans and their spouses will be admitted free.